-2
\$\begingroup\$

Since all PC's are capable of two weapon fighting, is the phrase "you can use two weapon fighting..." just redundant or is it giving you the two-weapon-fighting fighting-style of a fighter, so I can take great-weapon-fighting, dueling, or archery instead?

Secondly would a fifth level Eldritch knight with the Dual Wielder feat and Two-Weapon-Fighting fighting-style be able to:

  1. Shoot hand crossbow
  2. Throw hand-axe
  3. Summon his battle axe and war hammer with his bonus action
  4. Action surge to attack with summoned weapons one of which will have booming blade on it, and will that attack generate any additional actions?

Does his 5th level extra attack come into play during first attack, or at any other time?

\$\endgroup\$

closed as too broad by linksassin, Medix2, Rykara, Purple Monkey, HellSaint Oct 10 at 2:36

Please edit the question to limit it to a specific problem with enough detail to identify an adequate answer. Avoid asking multiple distinct questions at once. See the How to Ask page for help clarifying this question. If this question can be reworded to fit the rules in the help center, please edit the question.

-1
\$\begingroup\$

As suggested in this answer, the maximum amount of attacks you can make as a level 5 Fighter is 5 attacks. However, this is only if you have your bonus action free to make the final attack. By summoning the extra weapon(s), you forfeit 1 attack there.

  • Main Action to attack (shoot crossbow)
    • Extra Attack triggers, after taking the attack action (throw handaxe)
  • Bonus Action to Summon extra weapon(s)
  • Action Surge to attack (hammer)
    • Extra attack triggers.

However, if we want to get technical, two-weapon fighting states that you use your Bonus Action to make a second attack with your other hand (PHB p. 195 emphasis mine):

When you take the Attack action and attack with a light melee weapon that you’re holding in one hand, you can use a bonus action to attack with a different light melee weapon that you’re holding in the other hand. You don’t add your ability modifier to the damage of the bonus attack, unless that modifier is negative. If either weapon has the thrown property, you can throw the weapon, instead of making a melee attack with it.

So this means, that in your specific example, you already give up your bonus action by attacking with your off-hand (axe or crossbow), therefore making you unable to summon the extra weapons.

And finally, just a last clarification (thanks to Medix2 for pointing it out); the Weapon bond feature does allow for you to bond with up to two weapons, but only one weapon can be summoned at a time (PHB p. 75, emphasis mine):

Once you have bonded a weapon to yourself, you can't be disarmed of that weapon unless you are incapacitated. If it is on the same plane of existence, you can summon that weapon as a bonus action on your turn, causing it to teleport instantly to your hand. You can have up to two bonded weapons, but can summon only one at a time with your bonus action.

So, instead, you could use your bonus action to summon one weapon, then attack up to 4 times with it.

  • Bonus Action (summon bonded weapon)
  • Main Action (to attack with bonded weapon)
    • Extra attack (with same weapon)
  • Action Surge (to attack again with same weapon)
    • Extra attack (with same weapon)

Ultimately it's less cinematic, unfortunately (shooting and throwing weapons, and then summoning your hammer and axe to charge in swinging), but this way you can still gain the most attacks.

\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ Using the word "summon" instead of "draw" seems odd. Also Extra Attack does not occur after the Attack action it is part of it. Also I'm not sure where Two-Weapon Fighting really exists in the original questions, it seems unclear \$\endgroup\$ – Medix2 Oct 10 at 2:16
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ @Medix2 it's a feature of the Eldritch Knight archetype: "If [the weapon] is on the same plane of existence, you can summon that weapon as a bonus action on your turn, causing it to teleport instantly to your hand." (PHB p. 75) \$\endgroup\$ – Ben Oct 10 at 2:21
  • \$\begingroup\$ Oh! Then you may want to mention that they could not summon two weapons. Or that Dual Wielder would not allow them to do so. \$\endgroup\$ – Medix2 Oct 10 at 2:22
  • \$\begingroup\$ That is true. However, going from this specific example, they wouldn't be able to summon any. But I will make that point regardless. Nice catch! \$\endgroup\$ – Ben Oct 10 at 2:23

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.