3
\$\begingroup\$

I got the Dark Ages: Mage rulebook and it seems to have a confusing rule regarding the spending of Quintessence. In page 99 it says:

Assuming a caster can spend up to three points of Quintessence per turn, he may do so on a single casting to lower the difficulty of a given spell by one per point expended, to a minimum difficulty of 4. (Spending more than two Quintessence points per turn requires the Fount Background; see pp. 86-87)

What does this mean?

  1. There is a mistake in the text and you can use 2 pts/turn (or whatever Fount gives you)?
  2. You can spend 2 pts/turn (or more if you have Fount) but is limited to a maximum of 3 pts/turn, even if Fount gives you 4 pts/turn?

In the second case, the Fount Background does not make sense in level 3 or higher, because you cannot spend more than 3 pts/turn. So, what I'm missing here?

\$\endgroup\$
6
\$\begingroup\$

Here's what that means, in context.

  1. If you wish to reduce the difficulty of casting a given spell, you may spend Quintessence to do so.
  2. Each point of Quintessence spent to do so lowers the difficulty by 1.
  3. You may spend no more than 3 Quintessence this way in a turn…
  4. …and, as a reminder, unless you have the Fount background, you can only spend at most 2 Quintessence in a turn anyway.

So, if you have Fount 3 or higher, you can spend more than 3 Quintessence in a turn, but you cannot use more than three to lower a spell's difficulty. (There are other things one can conceivably spend Quintessence on.)

| improve this answer | |
\$\endgroup\$

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.