7
\$\begingroup\$

In 4E and 5E there seems to be the requirement of a Wall of Fire to be resting on a solid surface. But in 3.5 I did not find such a rule. So: can you create a Wall of Fire in midair?

\$\endgroup\$
8
\$\begingroup\$

Yes

There's nothing in the 3.5 rules to prevent you from placing a wall of fire in midair. Nothing in the spell description, or the specific rules for Evocation spells, or the general rules of magic requires that you place a a wall of fire on a solid surface.

Some other wall spells have the specific requirement to anchor to a surface, but wall of fire doesn't.

Interestingly, in another very good answer regarding prismatic wall in the Pathfinder ruleset, Hey I Can Chan notes that objects summoned with Conjuration spells cannot appear in open air, and this rule also appears in D&D 3.5. Since wall of fire is Evocation, this limitation doesn't apply.

\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ Unlike a conjured object (wall of whale?), walls of fire probably do not fall, so the rule is less necessary. \$\endgroup\$ – fectin - free Monica Oct 14 at 21:58

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.