Sometimes a special ability or spell tells you that you have advantage or disadvantage on an ability check, a saving throw, or an attack roll. When that happens, you roll a second d20 when you make the roll.
- If a player is to 'make a roll', does that mean they physically roll the die themselves and observe the result?
- Does this apply to all rolls that a player is to make, or only the listed ability check, saving throw, and attack roll?
- Do players know the result of the roll?
I am asking only about RAW/RAI. I include this statement because when researching this question I came across countless threads without any kind of official sourcing claiming that players do not always roll their own die.
For example here are some threads that discusses the problem:
- In /r/DMAcademy: "I roll insight to see if the NPC is lying" by /u/Jfelt45
- In /r/DnD: Which checks does your DM roll for you? by /u/Grimmie
- In /r/dndnext: Re: Players rolling their own dice by /u/CarrotDr
There are dozens of examples without anyone quoting rules.