3
\$\begingroup\$

Can my player’s multiclass Warlock 1/Sorcerer 8 cast the higher level sorcerer spells from with their warlock pact magic spell slots?

My player argued that he could now cast his 4th level sorcerer spells with his level 1 warlock spells slots. I think he interpreted pact magic as "highest spell slot possible", so he figures that since he has 4th level spell slots, he interprets that the warlock spell slots are 4th level slots now too.

\$\endgroup\$
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ Welcome to RPG.SE! Take the tour if you haven't already, and check out the help center for more guidance. What RPG and edition are you asking about? Please edit your question to include the appropriate tag for the system/edition you're asking about (e.g. [dnd-5e]). Then your question can be reopened and answered (or directed to where it's already answered). Hope you stick around! :) \$\endgroup\$ – V2Blast Oct 19 '19 at 6:49
  • \$\begingroup\$ The game and edition are in the tags properly now, I vote the question should be taken off hold. \$\endgroup\$ – RallozarX Oct 19 '19 at 16:25
  • \$\begingroup\$ @RallozarX No worries, there are already 3 of 5 votes needed to reopen. You’ll be able to see votes in progress once you unlock the privilege to cast close/reopen votes. \$\endgroup\$ – SevenSidedDie Oct 19 '19 at 17:04
  • \$\begingroup\$ @SevenSidedDie Ah, I see. Hopefully I'll get there eventually. \$\endgroup\$ – RallozarX Oct 19 '19 at 17:39
  • 4
    \$\begingroup\$ @RallozarX You can also, in cases where you are sure something should be closed or opened but lack reputation, flag the question for moderator attention or with special flags that stop existing once you have enough rep so I don't remember what they say exactly ^^; That is oftner appropriate than a comment, in cases like this. \$\endgroup\$ – Please stop being evil Oct 19 '19 at 17:48
6
\$\begingroup\$

I'm afraid the answer is "No"

A variant of this question has already been asked here: Paladin/Warlock sharing spell slots

The short version is you can't use a 1st level spell slot to cast a higher-level spell and as a 1st level warlock, the pact magic ability only gives you one slot of 1st level.

If you have both the Spellcasting class feature and the Pact Magic class feature from the warlock class, you can use the spell slots you gain from the Pact Magic feature to cast spells you know or have prepared from classes with the Spellcasting class feature, and you can use the spell slots you gain from the Spellcasting class feature to cast warlock spells you know. (PHB, p. 164)

You still have to follow the rules for spellcasting though.

All of your warlock spell slots are of the same level.

The Warlock table shows how many spell slots you have. The table also shows what the level of those slots is; all of your spell slots are the same level. (PHB, p. 107)

| improve this answer | |
\$\endgroup\$
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ I pulled in the rules references just for completeness. The other answer has a warlock of higher level, so I think it will help to underscore your points. \$\endgroup\$ – KorvinStarmast Oct 19 '19 at 19:34
  • \$\begingroup\$ Thanks! A definite improvement over my short answer. \$\endgroup\$ – Sum of e D pi Oct 20 '19 at 4:20

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.