8
\$\begingroup\$

Say a creature (humanoid) was killed and then reincarnated through the Reincarnate spell, gaining a new body. (Note that Reincarnate does not destroy the old body). Then that creature is killed again.

Can that creature be brought back to life through a Resurrection spell using the creature's old body? And would it resurrect in the old body or the body from Reincarnate?

\$\endgroup\$
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Possible addition I've thought of: "If the flesh component of the Clone spell is from the original body of a reincarnated creature is the original body grown?" \$\endgroup\$ – RallozarX Oct 19 '19 at 15:43
4
\$\begingroup\$

Personally, I would rule that this would work, but only if the body from Reincarnate (PHB page 271) is destroyed such that it can't be used for Resurrection (PHB page 272), leaving the initial body the only remaining body.

Also, the initial body would still be subject to all the rules of Resurrection:

  • that the creature has to have been dead for no more than a century,
  • that it didn't die of old age,
  • and that the original body isn't an undead.

The further effect that only happens when the creature has been dead for more than a year should also apply using the original death date and not the death date post-Reincarnate.

| improve this answer | |
\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ Can you support your ruling by explaining your reasoning for why you would rule on this interaction in this way? (Also, have you encountered this situation in practice and ruled in this way?) \$\endgroup\$ – V2Blast Oct 22 '19 at 7:20

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.