1
\$\begingroup\$

Suppose a vampire is two-weapon fighting. Does it have to drop a weapon to use its slam attack or can it use other body parts - kicking or elbow striking for example - to attack with a slam? I ask this because usually a creature must forgo one natural attack for each weapon clutched in a limb, but slam attacks are a little more nebulous.

\$\endgroup\$
1
\$\begingroup\$

You probably cannot make attacks with two weapons and slam as well with a vampire.

The rules are a little unclear what exactly constitutes a slam attack because it is the Natural Attack that is granted to creatures with no appendages. However it also seems to be the Natural Attack granted to creatures with arms but not Claws.

This is supported by the Natural Attacks description which includes

...although often a creature must forgo one natural attack for each weapon clutched in that limb, be it a claw, tentacle, or slam).

Of course, they had to include that word "often" so you can rule that's not the case. I don't recommend using the Slam when you're also using multiple weapons, both for narrative and balance concerns.

|improve this answer|||||
\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ "Slam" is the generic name for unarmed attack made by a non-human creature, it's "unarmed" for creatures. A Vampire's slam attack is from an undisclosed appendage. It's quite unclear as to how a Vampire slams. \$\endgroup\$ – pllpnakjlx Oct 24 '19 at 8:17
  • \$\begingroup\$ I address that, yes. The implication of the rules about losing Natural Attacks to weapons is that if a creature has arm-like limbs, it uses them for its slam. The rules don't say you can't body-Slam or "headbutt" something. It's just strongly implied. \$\endgroup\$ – Ifusaso Oct 24 '19 at 18:11
  • \$\begingroup\$ If you're trying to say something else, I would recommend creating a second answer. I don't agree that it's necessary to call it an "unarmed attack" because that has other implications and isn't (afaik) said explicitly in the rules \$\endgroup\$ – Ifusaso Oct 24 '19 at 18:13
  • \$\begingroup\$ No, you can't body slam or headbutt because slam is an attack made with an appendage. It is not an unarmed attack, it's the equivalent of unarmed attack for creatures. \$\endgroup\$ – pllpnakjlx Oct 24 '19 at 22:39

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.