A situation arose yesterday wherein a player with a fighter that had the Great Weapon Fighting fighting style rolled a '1' on his damage. He re-rolled and got a '2'. He re-rolled AGAIN and got a '4'.

That seemed odd to me, so we checked in the book and it said nothing about only re-rolling once. Not wanting to slow the game, I voiced my concern and let it slide (they were in a thug-fight so it did not matter in the grand scheme of things).

Then this morning I wondered it we had an old copy of the book or what we missed. Is there a rule somewhere that states where you can only reroll once?


The fighter can reroll (at most) once.

The Great Weapon Fighting style says the following (emphasis added by me):

When you roll a 1 or 2 on a damage die for an attack you make with a melee weapon that you are wielding with two hands, you can reroll the die and must use the new roll, even if the new roll is a 1 or a 2. The weapon must have the two-handed or versatile property for you to gain this benefit.

They can reroll any damage dice that rolled a 1 or 2, but each individual die can be rerolled only once.

If a rerolled damage die is a 1 or 2, they have to accept it. The fighter doesn't get to reroll it again.

  • 3
    \$\begingroup\$ That's kind of strange. Was this errata'd (as the OP asked about potentially having an old book) or has it always been like that? \$\endgroup\$ – Ifusaso Oct 24 '19 at 18:15
  • 21
    \$\begingroup\$ I have a copy of the first printing, and it reads as quoted. \$\endgroup\$ – aherocalledFrog Oct 24 '19 at 18:43
  • 11
    \$\begingroup\$ I have the errata'd pdf version of the PHB, and there is no alteration on this. I would also clarify that this is per dice. For example, a Greatsword uses 2d6. If the player rolls a one or a two on both dice, they can re-roll each d6 once. \$\endgroup\$ – Ben Oct 25 '19 at 4:24

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.