2
\$\begingroup\$

The rules regarding the Two-Weapon Fighting feats in D&D 4th Edition seem pretty clear, but I'm still not sure how they apply to double weapons. The Adventurer's Vault states "wielding a double weapon is like wielding a weapon in each hand" and it states that you can use either end to attack, but there's nothing that states how Two-Weapon Fighting applies. Would Two-Weapon Fighting and its later feats apply to double weapons, or do the feats only work if the PC is wielding two separate weapons in each hand?

\$\endgroup\$
1
  • \$\begingroup\$ Welcome to RPG.SE! Take the tour if you haven't already, and check out the help center or ask us here in the comments (use @ to ping someone) if you need more guidance. Good Luck and Happy Gaming! \$\endgroup\$
    – Someone_Evil
    Oct 30 '19 at 6:55
6
\$\begingroup\$

Wielding a double weapon is wielding two melee weapons (one in each hand) for all rules purposes.

It takes a feat to get the superior weapon proficiency you need to use a double weapon in the first place, and pretty much every power that cares about the damage of your off-hand weapon also has a requirement of "You must be wielding two melee weapons."

So "is like wielding a weapon in each hand" should be read as "consider these equivalent for rules purposes", rather than as an attempt to make some philosophical point.

\$\endgroup\$

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.