3
\$\begingroup\$

My question is about what happens when you get Permanent Shadow Points without a Bout of Madness.

In TOR you normally only get Permanent Shadow Points by becoming Miserable, rolling an Eye of Sauron, and thus suffering a Bout of Madness. This causes you to gain 1 Permanent Shadow Point and gain a Degeneration.

However, there are two other circumstances that I know of that can produce more Permanent Shadow Points:

  • In the Rivendell supplement there is a Fellowship Phase Undertaking called "There and Back Again." This causes you to gain 1 Permanent Shadow Point, but in return you get some hope back.
  • Characters who wish to gain the Shadow-Lore specialty from Saruman may study with him, but in return they gain 1 Permanent Shadow Point.

If you gain a Permanent Shadow Point in these circumstances, do you still gain a Degeneration? I can't find anything that firmly says if you do or do not.

\$\endgroup\$
1
  • \$\begingroup\$ Welcome to RPG.SE! Take the tour if you haven't already, and check out the help center for more guidance. \$\endgroup\$
    – V2Blast
    Commented Nov 2, 2019 at 6:56

1 Answer 1

1
\$\begingroup\$

Degeneration only occurs with a Bout of Madness

From The One Ring (core rulebook) p226:

Degeneration

In addition to ‘resetting’ his Shadow score, every time a hero suffers a bout of madness he develops a Flaw, a negative Distinctive Feature.

The above does not say that Degeneration occurs "every time a hero gains a permanent shadow point" - the only trigger for Degeneration is the Bout of Madness

\$\endgroup\$

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .