4
\$\begingroup\$

According to the rules on measuring diagonals in the Pathfinder SRD:

When measuring distance, the first diagonal counts as 1 square, the second counts as 2 squares, the third counts as 1, the fourth as 2, and so on.

A medium character with a reach weapon threatens 2 squares away (10 feet). The first diagonal is five feet, so my character does not threaten that square, but the second diagonal is 15 feet away, so I don't threaten that either.

Does this mean an opponent can step inside my reach without ever stepping in a square I threaten and thus never provoking an Attack of Opportunity just by walking down my diagonal line?

This feels like a serious design flaw, so I feel like I'm missing something.

\$\endgroup\$
4
\$\begingroup\$

I have not tracked the errata that this FAQ talks about, but...

As an exception to the way that diagonals normally work, a creature with 10 feet of reach threatens the second diagonal. These changes will be reflected in the next errata.

\$\endgroup\$

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.