8
\$\begingroup\$

I have a rogue with the Weapon Finesse feat:

When making a melee attack with a light weapon or rapier, you may use your DEX Mod instead of your strength Mod on the attack roll.

Since a rapier's hands datum is 1, I can wield it two-handed:

If you wield it two-handed, add 1-1/2 times your STR Mod to melee damage instead.

If the character's Str mod is +1 and Dex mod is +3, and they have the Weapon Finesse feat, is a two-handed attack always +1.5, or can it be +4.5?

\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ What if the weapon is keen and light? \$\endgroup\$ – Julix May 22 '13 at 20:45
14
\$\begingroup\$

No, for three reasons:

First, Rapier specifically states:

You can’t wield a rapier in two hands in order to apply 1½ times your Strength bonus to damage.

Second, Weapon Finesse allows you to use DEX mod instead of STR mod on attack rolls. Wielding a one handed weapon in two hands allows you to add to your damage rolls. Two completely different cases.

Third, you cannot use Weapon Finesse when wielding two handed weapons, or wielding a one handed weapon in two hands. There are a couple of specific items that change this ( iirc, Elven Courtblade from Races of the Wild and the cheesechain Spiked Chain ), but it is limited to those items.

| improve this answer | |
\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ Where does it specifically say that you cannot use Weapon Finesse when wielding two handed weapons? \$\endgroup\$ – Macona Aug 2 '12 at 7:50
  • \$\begingroup\$ @Macona "with a light weapon or rapier" Neither of these can be 2 handed. \$\endgroup\$ – StuperUser Aug 2 '12 at 9:07
  • \$\begingroup\$ @Macona - StuperUser has it right dandwiki.com/wiki/SRD:Light_Weapon : "Using two hands to wield a light weapon gives no advantage on damage; the Strength bonus applies as though the weapon were held in the wielder’s primary hand only." \$\endgroup\$ – Phill.Zitt Aug 2 '12 at 15:47
  • \$\begingroup\$ Ok, but the Spiked Chain and the Aldori Dueling sword are not light weapons, so they can be finessed with two hands. \$\endgroup\$ – Macona Aug 3 '12 at 8:32
  • 4
    \$\begingroup\$ Dandwiki is NOT valid for Pathfinder - use d20pfsrd.com or it's irrelevant... \$\endgroup\$ – mxyzplk - SE stop being evil Aug 6 '12 at 15:15

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.