I have a rogue with the Weapon Finesse feat:

When making a melee attack with a light weapon or rapier, you may use your DEX Mod instead of your strength Mod on the attack roll.

Since a rapier's hands datum is 1, I can wield it two-handed:

If you wield it two-handed, add 1-1/2 times your STR Mod to melee damage instead.

If the character's Str mod is +1 and Dex mod is +3, and they have the Weapon Finesse feat, is a two-handed attack always +1.5, or can it be +4.5?

  • \$\begingroup\$ What if the weapon is keen and light? \$\endgroup\$
    – Julix
    May 22, 2013 at 20:45

1 Answer 1


No, for three reasons:

First, Rapier specifically states:

You can’t wield a rapier in two hands in order to apply 1½ times your Strength bonus to damage.

Second, Weapon Finesse allows you to use DEX mod instead of STR mod on attack rolls. Wielding a one handed weapon in two hands allows you to add to your damage rolls. Two completely different cases.

Third, you cannot use Weapon Finesse when wielding two handed weapons, or wielding a one handed weapon in two hands. There are a couple of specific items that change this ( iirc, Elven Courtblade from Races of the Wild and the cheesechain Spiked Chain ), but it is limited to those items.

  • \$\begingroup\$ Where does it specifically say that you cannot use Weapon Finesse when wielding two handed weapons? \$\endgroup\$
    – Macona
    Aug 2, 2012 at 7:50
  • \$\begingroup\$ @Macona "with a light weapon or rapier" Neither of these can be 2 handed. \$\endgroup\$
    – StuperUser
    Aug 2, 2012 at 9:07
  • \$\begingroup\$ @Macona - StuperUser has it right dandwiki.com/wiki/SRD:Light_Weapon : "Using two hands to wield a light weapon gives no advantage on damage; the Strength bonus applies as though the weapon were held in the wielder’s primary hand only." \$\endgroup\$
    – Phill.Zitt
    Aug 2, 2012 at 15:47
  • \$\begingroup\$ Ok, but the Spiked Chain and the Aldori Dueling sword are not light weapons, so they can be finessed with two hands. \$\endgroup\$
    – Macona
    Aug 3, 2012 at 8:32
  • 4
    \$\begingroup\$ Dandwiki is NOT valid for Pathfinder - use d20pfsrd.com or it's irrelevant... \$\endgroup\$
    – mxyzplk
    Aug 6, 2012 at 15:15

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .