6
\$\begingroup\$

The Mature Animal Companion feat for Rangers (CRB p173) is really ambigious:

If you have the Hunt Prey action, your animal companion assaults the prey even without your orders. During an encounter, even if you don’t use the Command an Animal action, your animal companion can still use 1 action that round on your turn to Stride toward or Strike your prey.
(emphasis mine)

It makes a lot more sense with use instead of have, otherwise I might not even have a Prey for it to Strike.
But in that case, next round, when the Prey is still alive, will my Animal Companion just stand around?

\$\endgroup\$
6
+50
\$\begingroup\$

You can use it every round when you do not use Command Animal

It isn't a typo, just bad editing after a copy-paste. It is quite clear once you understand the original, the Druid feat of the same name (CRB p135):

Your animal companion is better trained than most. During an encounter, even if you don’t use the Command an Animal action, your animal companion can still use 1 action on your turn that round to Stride or Strike.
(Emphasis mine)

Clearly that round refers to rounds when you do not use Command Animal. When you compare this to the Ranger feat you can see how Hunt Prey was added.
So Hunt Prey is not necessary to trigger this action, only to provide a valid target.

\$\endgroup\$
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ Even this way it is strictly worse than the Druid version, while of higher level. Does not bode well for balance between classes. \$\endgroup\$ – András Nov 14 '19 at 10:06
  • \$\begingroup\$ Context may add some balance; for example a ranger will in general gain significantly greater benefit from flanking than a druid will (due to taking more strikes). I'm not saying it does balance the two, but that comparing them directly outside context wont give the full picture. \$\endgroup\$ – Isaac Dec 10 '19 at 9:40
-1
\$\begingroup\$

The first line isn't a typo; the final line is the ability.

Your Animal Companion may take one action each round you use Hunt Prey but not Command an Animal.

Your animal companion grows up, becoming a mature animal companion and gaining additional capabilities (page 214). If you have the Hunt Prey action, your animal companion assaults the prey even without your orders. During an encounter, even if you don’t use the Command an Animal action, your animal companion can still use 1 action that round on your turn to Stride toward or Strike your prey.

"If you have the Hunt Prey action" is probably future-proofing for when class archetypes remove or alter core Class Features or else leftover from a build where it was an option for Rangers instead of included in all of them (but that's conjecture).

However, that doesn't alter the portion I emphasized which explains how the ability functions: "that round on your turn". Each round that you Hunt Prey, your Animal Companion gets one action (instead of two if you perform the Command an Animal action).

\$\endgroup\$
  • 3
    \$\begingroup\$ Rather, the line is probably very intentional about whether you have the Hunt Prey action, because we've heard tell that Class Archetypes will mess with the actual class features you get and when (and is the reason e.g. Weapon Specialization under Rogues mentions damage they get when they're Legendary with a weapon, even though a Rogue in the current rules cannot be Legendary with any weapons). The idea that it can take the action iff you have the feature makes sense through that lens. \$\endgroup\$ – Delioth Nov 11 '19 at 18:30
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ @Isaac Though, there's a difference between having the action [as part of your character, on the sheet] and being able to take the action [meeting all the requirements at a current moment in time]. A Barbarian has the Rage action, since their class feature says they gained it. A Barbarian may not have the ability to actually use the Rage action, such as when they're fatigued. \$\endgroup\$ – Delioth Nov 11 '19 at 21:30
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ @András Well, yeah, that's the point. It's not to give your companion one action on just the round you use Hunt Prey, it's to give your companion one action on every round which you have a Hunted Prey and don't Command them. But only if you have the Hunt Prey action. \$\endgroup\$ – Delioth Nov 14 '19 at 14:46
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ This answer makes it seem that it can only be done on the turn the Ranger uses the Hunt Prey action, but I think your intent was to say whilst there is a target that Hunt Prey was used on? \$\endgroup\$ – royalmurder Nov 14 '19 at 17:20
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ Spear Carrier does bring up a good point about the Druid feat being worded better, probably showing intent. \$\endgroup\$ – Ifusaso Nov 15 '19 at 13:58

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.