20
\$\begingroup\$

I've not seen comments on this interpretation, so what can anyone tell me about enemies picking up arrows shot out of the hut and shooting them back in (albeit at obscured creatures inside)? Do those arrows get a pass since they were inside the hut when cast?

\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ We can't answer why the designer did something (that's designer intent), but we can answer whether your question at the end about using ammunition that left. I've adjusted your question, but you can always roll back or edit it! \$\endgroup\$ – NautArch Nov 13 '19 at 20:14
  • \$\begingroup\$ And welcome to the stack! Please take our tour to learn more about how we operate :) \$\endgroup\$ – NautArch Nov 13 '19 at 20:15
  • \$\begingroup\$ Get a pass? I must be missing context as to why they wouldn't be able to use the ammunition. Is it magic ammunition or something? If it is a spell, it should be stated clearly. \$\endgroup\$ – Eternallord66 Nov 13 '19 at 20:35
  • \$\begingroup\$ I checked the edits to see that it was a spell and made an edit to show it. \$\endgroup\$ – Eternallord66 Nov 13 '19 at 20:39
19
\$\begingroup\$

The relevant part of the Leomund's Tiny Hut (PHB, 255) spell description states:

Creatures and objects⁠ within the dome when you cast this spell can move through it freely. All other creatures and objects⁠ are barred from passing through it.

Based on that description, in order to pass out of the dome, the arrows would have had to be inside the dome initially. If they were inside the dome initially, it should be possible to shoot them back inside the dome as well.

\$\endgroup\$
  • 11
    \$\begingroup\$ It may be helpful to add a caveat about the potential non-recover-ability of ammunition (eg, as discussed here: rpg.stackexchange.com/questions/92203/… ). \$\endgroup\$ – minnmass Nov 13 '19 at 20:39
  • \$\begingroup\$ @minnmass To be more direct, the rules say that it takes a minute to search a battlefield for ammo, and you recover half of the ammo used. \$\endgroup\$ – Yakk Nov 14 '19 at 19:06

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.