The Weapon Storm spell has a somatic component1 (CRB p384):

[...] This damage has the same type as the weapon and uses the same die size. Determine the die size as if you were attacking with the weapon; for instance, if you were wielding a two-hand weapon in both hands, you’d use its two-hand damage die.

A weapon with the two-hand property can be used with 2 hands, but it is not required.
How can I use a somatic component while holding a weapon in 2 hands?

Is it possible with any spell?

1) And verbal, but that doesn't matter now.

  • \$\begingroup\$ Maybe the somatic component actually requires the weapon. Maybe it involves the caster striking empty space with it. \$\endgroup\$ – edgerunner Nov 19 '19 at 11:53

You can cast any spell while holding anything

Somatic components (CRB, p303):

You can use this component while holding something in your hand, but not if you are restrained or otherwise unable to gesture freely.

  • 4
    \$\begingroup\$ Too much time spent with DnD 5 and 3.5 \$\endgroup\$ – András Nov 18 '19 at 15:42
  • \$\begingroup\$ I believe the idea here is that you only need one hand to fulfill the somatic requirement, and while you need two hands to swing a two handed weapon, there's no reason you can't briefly take one hand off to cast the spell. This logic can be used any time you want to know if a caster can cast a spell with a somatic component. \$\endgroup\$ – Turksarama Nov 19 '19 at 4:19
  • \$\begingroup\$ @Turksarama, that is the idea in DnD 3.5 and 5, but here you can even cast while holding two separate weapons. \$\endgroup\$ – András Nov 19 '19 at 18:40
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ @Turksarama The rule linked states that you explicitly don't need any hands free to use Somatic components. \$\endgroup\$ – Delioth Nov 19 '19 at 22:41
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ Somatic components don't require a free hand, but material and foci do. 2e.aonprd.com/Rules.aspx?ID=282 2e.aonprd.com/Rules.aspx?ID=285 \$\endgroup\$ – Acacia Nov 19 '19 at 22:41

While gesturing with fingers while holding a sword is definitely possible, doing it with an item heavy enough to require two hands seems unwieldy at best.

Honestly, the first thing that came to my mind was Bewitched. Yes, the campy show from the 60's. A nose wrinkle was the rather gimmicky somatic element used by protagonist Samantha.

From the same era, Jeannie of I dream of Jeannie had a head nod in addition to folding her arms. Sans folded arms, both above are gestures easily performed with occupied hands.

We generally think of tracing runes in the air with hands or fingers for the required gestures, but GM's discretion is rule #1, and your magic doesn't need to look like everybody else's magic. Even different casters in the same environment can channel the same energies in very different ways.

  • 3
    \$\begingroup\$ Hi VoltisArt! Welcome to the RPGSE! Your answer presents an interesting idea from a narrative standpoint, but there are also rules that bear on the matter at hand. Your answer could benefit from including the relevant rule(s) for support or acknowledging what they say in addition to your (I think clever) homebrew answer. You might consider adding this info in to help prevent downvotes. You can read about how to format quotes in the help section here. \$\endgroup\$ – Rykara Nov 19 '19 at 1:27
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ To extend Rykara's point, currently this is an untested homebrew suggestion that is lacking support. If you could edit in what the rules do say and make it clear what your homebrew suggestion is and what the consequences of it may be that would make this a good answer. Good luck and happy gaming \$\endgroup\$ – linksassin Nov 19 '19 at 2:26

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.