The Weapon Storm spell has a somatic component1 (CRB p384):

[...] This damage has the same type as the weapon and uses the same die size. Determine the die size as if you were attacking with the weapon; for instance, if you were wielding a two-hand weapon in both hands, you’d use its two-hand damage die.

A weapon with the two-hand property can be used with 2 hands, but it is not required.
How can I use a somatic component while holding a weapon in 2 hands?

Is it possible with any spell?

1) And verbal, but that doesn't matter now.

  • \$\begingroup\$ Maybe the somatic component actually requires the weapon. Maybe it involves the caster striking empty space with it. \$\endgroup\$
    – edgerunner
    Commented Nov 19, 2019 at 11:53

2 Answers 2


You can cast any spell without material components while holding anything

Somatic components (CRB, p303):

You can use this component while holding something in your hand, but not if you are restrained or otherwise unable to gesture freely.

Material components

The spell gains the manipulate trait and requires you to have a free hand to retrieve and manipulate a material component.

Unless of course you have a focus that occupies your hand, or you are a Sorcerer, in which case you do not need a free hand for material components either.

  • 5
    \$\begingroup\$ Too much time spent with DnD 5 and 3.5 \$\endgroup\$
    – András
    Commented Nov 18, 2019 at 15:42
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ @Turksarama, that is the idea in DnD 3.5 and 5, but here you can even cast while holding two separate weapons. \$\endgroup\$
    – András
    Commented Nov 19, 2019 at 18:40
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ @Turksarama The rule linked states that you explicitly don't need any hands free to use Somatic components. \$\endgroup\$
    – Delioth
    Commented Nov 19, 2019 at 22:41
  • 4
    \$\begingroup\$ Somatic components don't require a free hand, but material and foci do. 2e.aonprd.com/Rules.aspx?ID=282 2e.aonprd.com/Rules.aspx?ID=285 \$\endgroup\$
    – Acacia
    Commented Nov 19, 2019 at 22:41
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ @Turksarama, if moving your hands relative to each other would be needed, you could not wield a 2 handed weapon properly, while casting Weapon Storm. So not even that is necessary. \$\endgroup\$
    – András
    Commented Dec 6, 2021 at 10:16

While gesturing with fingers while holding a sword is definitely possible, doing it with an item heavy enough to require two hands seems unwieldy at best.

Honestly, the first thing that came to my mind was Bewitched. Yes, the campy show from the 60's. A nose wrinkle was the rather gimmicky somatic element used by protagonist Samantha.

From the same era, Jeannie of I dream of Jeannie had a head nod in addition to folding her arms. Sans folded arms, both above are gestures easily performed with occupied hands.

We generally think of tracing runes in the air with hands or fingers for the required gestures, but GM's discretion is rule #1, and your magic doesn't need to look like everybody else's magic. Even different casters in the same environment can channel the same energies in very different ways.

  • 4
    \$\begingroup\$ Hi VoltisArt! Welcome to the RPGSE! Your answer presents an interesting idea from a narrative standpoint, but there are also rules that bear on the matter at hand. Your answer could benefit from including the relevant rule(s) for support or acknowledging what they say in addition to your (I think clever) homebrew answer. You might consider adding this info in to help prevent downvotes. You can read about how to format quotes in the help section here. \$\endgroup\$
    – Rykara
    Commented Nov 19, 2019 at 1:27
  • 3
    \$\begingroup\$ To extend Rykara's point, currently this is an untested homebrew suggestion that is lacking support. If you could edit in what the rules do say and make it clear what your homebrew suggestion is and what the consequences of it may be that would make this a good answer. Good luck and happy gaming \$\endgroup\$
    – linksassin
    Commented Nov 19, 2019 at 2:26

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .