6
\$\begingroup\$

I currently have a Druid in my game that is approaching epic level. In the epic level handbook there is a passage that I cannot find clarification on. The passage reads:

Animal Companion: The druid may have a maximum number of animal companions equal to twice her class level, as normal.

This implies to me that a druid may have multiple animal companions. I have searched the player handbook, epic level handbook, and the complete adventurer for an answer to this question. Is this question answered in another book that I do not own?

\$\endgroup\$
11
\$\begingroup\$

Quoting a relevant topic from community.wizards.com:

from the DMG Errata:

(Careful, the link points to a zip file from Wizards.com. Always scan files for viruses etc upon download!)

Epic Druid

Dungeon Master’s Guide, page 208

Problem: Druids no longer get multiple animal companions.

Solution: Replace the Animal Companion paragraph with the following text:

Animal Companion: The epic druid’s animal companion continues to increase in power. At every three levels higher than 18th (21st, 24th, 27th, and so on), the companion gains +2 bonus Hit Dice, its natural armor increases by 2, its Strength and Dexterity modifiers increase by 1, and it learns one additional bonus trick.

\$\endgroup\$

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.