9
\$\begingroup\$

The Green Slime (DMG, p105) is a dungeon hazard, and

any effect that cures disease [...] destroys a patch of green slime.

A Paladin, from level 3, is immune to disease thanks to the Divine Health feature. Does that mean that, if a Green Slime drops on one, it is destroyed? Or would the slime only be destroyed by some restoration spell that said it cured a disease?

\$\endgroup\$
  • 11
    \$\begingroup\$ No, but if a patch of green slime ever became a level 3 paladin, it would be instantly destroyed. \$\endgroup\$ – Daniel B Nov 24 '19 at 10:26
31
\$\begingroup\$

Immunity to disease is not the same thing as curing a disease. It's just an innate ability that prevents any diseases from affecting the creature.

A paladin's Lay on Hands ability used to cure disease would work, however:

Alternatively, you can expend 5 hit points from your pool of healing to cure the target of one disease or neutralize one poison affecting it.

| improve this answer | |
\$\endgroup\$
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ Technically, Lay on Hands says: "As an action, you can touch a creature and draw power from the pool to restore a number of hit points to that creature, up to the maximum amount remaining in your pool." Do you think this would prevent Lay on Hands from being used to destroy green slime? Or would you say the green slime's description creates a more specific exception than the general rules of Lay on Hands? \$\endgroup\$ – V2Blast Nov 23 '19 at 22:55
  • 12
    \$\begingroup\$ @V2Blast I'd consider a green slime to be a creature. It is capable of reacting to other creatures and has blindsight. \$\endgroup\$ – Allan Mills Nov 24 '19 at 1:12
  • \$\begingroup\$ Fair enough! That makes sense. \$\endgroup\$ – V2Blast Nov 24 '19 at 1:13
14
\$\begingroup\$

No. A Green Slime is destroyed by "an effect that cures disease". A Paladin is immune from disease. This effect is preventative (prophylactic), not curative.

| improve this answer | |
\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ Welcome to RPG.SE! Take the tour if you haven't already, and check out the help center for more guidance. Good first answer! \$\endgroup\$ – V2Blast Nov 23 '19 at 22:54

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.