The rulebook says that an attack of opportunity can be done on a foe leaving your reach area without disengaging. My thought is kind of reminiscent of the old wording "leaving a threatened area", but anyways, here it is :

The "hooves" attack action description is as follows :

Hooves: Melee Weapon Attack: +5 to hit, reach 5 ft. one prone creature. Hit: 8 (2d4 + 3) bludgeoning damage.

(emphasis added; quote slightly modified for clarity)

Technically, could the hooves attack range be considered 5ft-ground, causing a standing-up character withing 5ft of an Elk's hooves to trigger an attack of opportunity?

Note: This question is not a duplicate. It is specific to the Hooves attack which has very limited usage. The target needs to be proned and within 5 feet. This question is not about "how to perform an attack of opportunity", but rather IF one can be performed with a hooves attack under certain conditions.


3 Answers 3



The reach is 5ft and can only hit 1 prone creature. The reach is not "5ft on the ground only." For example, you could target a prone creature laying on top of a low table. They do not need to be on the ground - just prone within 5 feet.

The mechanic of standing up from prone requires you to use your movement feet, but does not actually entail you moving anywhere. The feet used to stand is representative of the time you need to recover, not the distance traveled. A human does not move 15 feet when they stand up. Standing up does not trigger opportunity attacks.

Even by the old wording you are not leaving a threatened AREA, you are leaving a "condition"(at best) that could be exploited by hooves.

The argument could be made an attack of opportunity is possible while a prone creature is crawling away without standing up.

  • 3
    \$\begingroup\$ A clearer way to phrase the point in your first paragraph might be that the reach of the attack is simply 5 feet, whereas "one prone creature" is a targeting restriction. As you say, standing up just means they no longer meet the necessary condition to be targeted by the Hooves attack, not that they're leaving the attack's reach. \$\endgroup\$
    – V2Blast
    Commented Nov 28, 2019 at 8:58

Opportunity attacks happen when the opponent leaves your reach

Standing up doesn’t do this. Nor does running around you in circles within 5-feet. The target must move from within 5-feet of you to not within 5-feet of you.

If they are prone while they do that (i.e. they crawl) you can use Hooves.

  • 6
    \$\begingroup\$ The question is specifically asking if the standing from a prone position (leaving the "range" of the attack as he sees it) triggers an attack of opportunity. \$\endgroup\$ Commented Nov 27, 2019 at 23:08

You do not move when you stand from prone and thus standing from prone cannot provoke an opportunity attack

The rules on "Opportunity Attacks" state the following:

[...] You can make an opportunity attack when a hostile creature that you can see moves out of your reach [...]

There already exists a similar question here:

The answers there establish that booming blade triggers its damage when the target moves and that the damage does not trigger when a creature stands up. Thus, standing up does not count as moving and cannot provoke an opportunity attack.

The answers there are well-accepted but the following unofficial ruling (a tweet) from lead game designer Jeremy Crawford used in BloodCinder's answer also exists:

Question: For Booming Blade, did you intend for standing up from prone to trigger the extra damage? It costs movement.

Crawford's Answer: Standing up costs movement but moves you nowhere. To move while prone, you crawl or use magic (PH, 191).

Note that Crawford's quote is somewhat problematic because teleporting also does not count as moving...

For a more direct answer there also already exists the following question:

  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ You do move when standing up from prone, in both the conventional sense (your location in space changes) and the game-mechanics sense (you spend movement). You just don't move out of reach. \$\endgroup\$
    – Mark Wells
    Commented Nov 27, 2019 at 21:02
  • \$\begingroup\$ @MarkWells No you don't. See the linked question, booming blade activates when you move and it does not activate when you stand up. Thus, standing up does not count as moving. "Standing up costs movement but moves you nowhere." \$\endgroup\$ Commented Nov 27, 2019 at 21:03
  • \$\begingroup\$ You can't generalize rulings into rules. What makes them rulings is that they're situational. A pattern of rulings may suggest an interpretation of the rules, but a single point doesn't. Booming blade is an outlier in many ways and drawing any larger conclusions from it is a mistake. \$\endgroup\$
    – Mark Wells
    Commented Nov 28, 2019 at 18:34
  • \$\begingroup\$ @MarkWells Neither answer there specifically concerns itself with booming blade, nor is the cantrip in any way exceptional. It has a clear trigger, "movement", and that is not triggered when standing from prone. Thus anything that requires movement cannot trigger when standing from prone or else those answers are incorrect. There is no "larger conclusion" when the only is question is "does standing from prone count as "movement"?" If you'd like, I can open this as its own question \$\endgroup\$ Commented Nov 28, 2019 at 18:38
  • \$\begingroup\$ The larger conclusion you're drawing is that standing from prone doesn't count as movement, based on the evidence that standing from prone doesn't trigger booming blade (if you happen to be at Jeremy Crawford's table, which I'll point out that most of us aren't). There is no reason for the question "Does X count as Y?" to have a consistent, universally applicable answer. That's why the booming blade thing is a ruling. \$\endgroup\$
    – Mark Wells
    Commented Nov 28, 2019 at 18:54

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .