Say a character is under the influence of the confusion spell and they roll a 7 or an 8 to determine their action. So they try to attack an adjacent character. Now say the character has at least 2 levels of barbarian so their have the option to perform a reckless attack. Do they have that option available to them under those circumstances? What if the character is wielding a finesse weapon, do they have the option of choosing between strength and dexterity for the attack and damage rolls? What if the character is wielding a two-handed weapon and has the great weapon fighting class feature? Can they choose whether they reroll any damage dice if they hit?

  • \$\begingroup\$ I don't think it is because Crown of Madness does not reference the spell Confusion and uses (albeit slightly) different language. \$\endgroup\$ – Ifusaso Nov 29 '19 at 23:26
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ The core of that other question is about whether you could do something like make an unarmed attack instead of whatever weapon you have in your hands. \$\endgroup\$ – Allan Mills Nov 29 '19 at 23:38
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Close vote removed. Related: "When affected by the Crown of Madness spell, can I choose what type of melee attack to make?" \$\endgroup\$ – Medix2 Nov 30 '19 at 2:29

Spells do what they say they do

The creature uses its action to make a melee attack ...

They must make a “melee attack”; the spell requires nothing else. Therefore the details are up to the character - if they are targeting a friend they can make an unarmed strike to minimize damage, if they are targeting an enemy they can go all out.

| improve this answer | |
  • 4
    \$\begingroup\$ Where's the fun in that? :D Smite your friends! \$\endgroup\$ – NautArch Nov 29 '19 at 21:43

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.