6
\$\begingroup\$

I think I misunderstand how the eldritch invocations that grant spells "using a warlock spell slot".

Sculptor of Flesh Prerequisite: 7th level

You can cast Polymorph once using a Warlock spell slot. You can’t do so again until you finish a Long Rest.

Looking at the Warlock spell list, you are also able to take Polymorph as a spell at 7th level. If I took Polymorph as a spell, couldn't I cast it using pact slots every short rest? What is the point of using this as one of my eldritch invocations?

\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ Welcome to RPG.SE! Take the tour if you haven't already, and check out the help center for more guidance. \$\endgroup\$ – V2Blast Nov 30 '19 at 12:48
16
\$\begingroup\$

Polymorph is not, in fact, on the warlock spell list. The only way a single-class warlock can get access to polymorph by themselves is through the invocation.

\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ Ah, this is correct, I guess I overlooked this fact in my answer \$\endgroup\$ – Medix2 Nov 30 '19 at 4:40
  • \$\begingroup\$ Me too... Warlock and Wizard were right next to each other, and I misread it. \$\endgroup\$ – Link Nov 30 '19 at 4:43

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.