11
\$\begingroup\$

Conjure barrage specifies that the ammunition used to cast it must be non magical but I can't find anywhere if an arrow under the effect of flame arrow is considered magical or not.

What I mean by that is, is the arrow in and of itself magical or does flame arrow just set it on fire as it's launched as though it had been wrapped in cloth soaked in oil and lit (but without those steps)?

Would I still be able to use it as a medium to cast the conjure barrage spell or would I not be able to cast that till I lost concentration on flame arrow/the spell ran its course? If not, would the effects stack?

\$\endgroup\$
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ Hi Rockon5002, welcome to RPG.SE! Take the tour to find out how things work, and visit the help center for more guidance. I've tried to split up the text a little, but feel free to edit your question if you don't like my changes. \$\endgroup\$ – NathanS Dec 1 '19 at 18:47
21
\$\begingroup\$

You can use arrows treated with Conjure Barrage, but the effects won't stack

Conjure Barrage requires no concentration, so that is not a concern when casting it during Flame Arrows. Conjure Barrage requires the weapon or ammunition used to be non-magical, but nowhere in the rules text does it state that Flame Arrows turns the arrows magical (while other spells, eg. Shillelagh, do --- the exception therefore proving the rule).

However, the Flame Arrows only deal extra damage "when a target is hit by a ranged weapon attack using a piece of ammunition drawn from the quiver". Conjure Barrage is not a ranged weapon attack, or an attack at all --- it is instead resolved as a saving throw. Therefore the barrage deals normal damage even if you use arrows enchanted with Flame Arrows.

| improve this answer | |
\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ Thank you I thought that might be the case but I wasn't certain I didn't really expect the effects to stack though it would be nice if they did I just wasn't sure if one would block me from casting the other. \$\endgroup\$ – Rockon5002 Dec 24 '19 at 19:05

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.