The enlarge/reduce spell states:

[...] If the target is a creature, everything it is wearing and carrying changes size with it. Any item dropped by an affected creature returns to normal size at once [...]

Reduce. [...] The target's weapons also shrink to match its new size. While these weapons are reduced, the target's attacks with them deal 1d4 less damage [...]

If the enlarge/reduce (choosing reduce) spell is cast on you, can you simply pick up a regular-sized weapon to avoid the 1d4 damage reduction? Alternatively, can the creature drop a reduced weapon, and then pick it back, removing the 1d4 damage reduction? In other words, what happens when a creature affected by enlarge/reduce picks up an item?

| improve this question | | | | |

The weapon remains normal size

Items picked up after the spell has been cast are not reduced. The weapon still has normal damage.

If you drop a Reduced item then it returns to normal size:

Any item dropped by an affected creature returns to normal size at once.

However be aware that Reduce makes you smaller: "This reduction decreases its size by one category--from Medium to Small, for example." So if you become small or smaller then a weapon with heavy property then it may not be an ideal: "Small creatures have disadvantage on attack rolls with heavy weapons"

| improve this answer | | | | |

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.