A few DMs I play with all seem to believe that being invisible (such as via the invisibility or greater invisibility spells) grants advantage on stealth checks. However, I could not find any support for this in the rules. Of course, these aforementioned DMs are all people I know from the same gaming store, so it's possible that they are all under the same misconception, or that they just all like using that house-rule, but the way they speak of it implies that they believe it to be RAW.
I'm aware that each DM is free to grant situational advantage by DM fiat, and being invisible seems like a reasonable situation for a DM to grant advantage to a stealth roll; see Advantage and Disadvantage (PHB, p. 173):
The DM can also decide that circumstances influence a roll in one direction or the other and grant advantage or impose disadvantage as a result.
Given that I am also running a game at this store with some of these people, I want to be sure on this in case a situation arises where they believe it to be RAW in a situation where I believe advantage wouldn't be granted (of course, if it turns out that it is RAW, and that I was just missing something, then I'll let them have their advantage on stealth checks whenever they are invisible).
So, RAW, does being invisible for any reason grant advantage to stealth rolls? Remember, I'm looking for RAW evidence of whether being invisible grants advantage on stealth checks, not justifications on why it should be like that, or more general discussions on how stealth/hiding works. Does being invisible grant advantage on stealth checks?