9
\$\begingroup\$

The Bladesinging Wizard gets the Training in War and Song feature, which states (SCAG, p. 142; emphasis mine):

[...] You gain proficiency with one type of one-handed melee weapon of your choice [...]

Similarly, there is the Dual Wielder feat, which states (PHB, p. 165; emphasis mine):

[...] You can draw or stow two one-handed weapons when you would normally be able to draw or stow only one [...]

Could a Wizard then choose the lance or Versatile weapon to gain proficiency in? (They can't choose the net because it's ranged.)

Could somebody with Dual Wielder draw/stow a lance, net, or Versatile weapon? None of them have the Two-Handed property, but they do have either the Special or Versatile properties so I'm unsure how this works out. Do nets and lances and Versatile weapons count as one-handed weapons?


The following question already exists but it only establishes that a lance while mounted counts as a one-handed weapon:

\$\endgroup\$
8
\$\begingroup\$

The rules implicitly assume that non-two-handed weapons are one-handed

The two-handed property says:

This weapon requires two hands when you attack with it.

For weapons without the two-handed property, I can't find anything in the rules that directly says they are considered one-handed. However, although there is no explicit "one-handed" weapon property, there is strong circumstantial evidence that the designers consider all non-two-handed weapons to be one-handed weapons. First, the Crossbow Expert feat and the ammunition property both which make explicit reference to "one-handed weapons". In addition, the rules for melee attacks say:

A melee attack typically uses a handheld weapon such as a sword, a warhammer, or an axe.

Similarly, the rules for improvised weapons also reference holding the weapon in your hands:

An improvised weapon includes any object you can wield in one or two hands, such as broken glass, a table leg, a frying pan, a wagon wheel, or a dead goblin.

And assuming that all PCs have 2 hands (which is currently the case for all official playable races), the only ways to wield a handheld weapon are with either 1 hand or 2.

Finally, a few official rulings in the Sage Advice Compendium also reference one-handed weapons, such as:

Dual Wielder

Can my character wield two heavy weapons if she has the Dual Wielder feat? No. The Dual Wielder feat lets you wield two one-handed weapons. Every heavy weapon in the Player’s Handbook also has the two-handed property.

This ruling strongly implies that any non-two-handed weapon is considered a one-handed weapon, or else it wouldn't be eligible for two-weapon fighting. In general, although it's never explicitly stated, the intent seems to be that every weapon either requires 1 or 2 hands to wield, so any handheld weapon that isn't two-handed must be one-handed.


(This answer was adapted from my answer to another question.)

\$\endgroup\$
16
\$\begingroup\$

Weapons are two-handed if they have the two-handed property.

A weapon that does not have the two-handed property is one-handed.

The lance does not have the two-handed property, so it is not a two-handed weapon. It just has a special rule that requires you to wield it two handed:

Lance 10 gp 1d12 piercing 6 lb. Reach, special

...

Also, a lance requires two hands to wield when you aren't mounted.

Net doesn't have the two-handed property either:

Net 1 gp - 3 lb. Special, thrown (range 5/15)

Versatile weapons are not two-handed either, they just gain special damage when wielded with two hands:

This weapon can be used with one or two hands. A damage value in parentheses appears with the property--the damage when the weapon is used with two hands to make a melee attack.

If you wield a weapon with two hands and it does not have this property, then it deals normal damage. For example when wielding a dagger with two hands it deals 1d4 damage still.

\$\endgroup\$

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for?Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.