Does a Warforged take half damage to all attacks?

I got hit with a fireball today in my campaign and took all the damage, but I'm not sure if I was supposed to take half damage or not.

  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Welcome to RPG.SE! Take the tour if you haven't already, and check out the help center for more guidance. What makes you think warforged should take half damage or not? \$\endgroup\$ – V2Blast Dec 8 '19 at 22:03
  • \$\begingroup\$ Note that a fireball is not classified as an attack in D&D 3.5, so you may not be asking quite the right question. \$\endgroup\$ – Mark Wells Dec 8 '19 at 22:10
  • \$\begingroup\$ @MarkWells That depends on the context. Some contexts use “attack” to refer only to things that use an attack roll, while others use “attack” to mean any offensive action. It’s honestly a mess. \$\endgroup\$ – KRyan Dec 9 '19 at 2:49

Warforged take half “damage” from Conjuration (healing) effects, that is, they are healed for half as much damage as a regular living creature would be. No other effects are halved for them. You might be thinking of the way fire and electricity damage against objects is halved (and cold damage is quartered), but objects are explicitly defined as inanimate objects with no ability scores. Creatures, even constructs, are not objects, and that rule does not apply to them. Extra doubly so with living constructs like warforged.


Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.