0
\$\begingroup\$

When I apply Magical Tinkering or an Infusion to a weapon, does the weapon count as magical to bypass resistance to non-magic weapons?

Magical Tinkering At 1st level, you learn how to invest a spark of magic into mundane objects. To use this ability, you must have tinker's tools or other artisan's tools in hand. You then touch a Tiny nonmagical object as an action [...]

Infusing an Item Whenever you finish a long rest, you can touch a nonmagical object and imbue it with one of your artificer infusions, turning it into a magic item. [...]

\$\endgroup\$
  • 3
    \$\begingroup\$ I think you may need to separate out these two questions. \$\endgroup\$ – NautArch Dec 9 '19 at 20:32
5
\$\begingroup\$

Depends- When you talk about magical tinkering, it says this:

You then touch a Tiny nonmagical object as an action and give it one of the following magical properties of your choice: The object sheds bright light in a 5-foot radius and dim light for an additional 5 feet. Whenever tapped by a creature, the object emits a recorded message that can be heard up to 10 feet away. You utter the message when you bestow this property on the object, and the recording can be no more than 6 seconds long. The object continuously emits your choice of an odor or a nonverbal sound (wind, waves, chirping, or the like). The chosen phenomenon is perceivable up to 10 feet away. A static visual effect appears on one of the object’s surfaces. This effect can be a picture, up to 25 words of text, lines and shapes, or a mixture of these elements, as you like.

This ability specifies tiny items, and thus can not target normal weapons, so this is generally a moot point, but even if you have a tiny character with a tiny weapon, it still does not grant any weapon enhancing properties, and as such likely would not count as magical damage.

Now, when you talk about infusing an item, the description says this:

Whenever you finish a long rest, you can touch a non-magical object and imbue it with one of your artificer infusions, turning it into a magic item

Since it says that it turns the item into a magical item, so it deals magical damage

Hope this clears things up!

\$\endgroup\$
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ “Mute” should be “moot” \$\endgroup\$ – Dale M Dec 9 '19 at 20:46
  • \$\begingroup\$ "This ability specifies tiny items, and thus can not target normal weapons" Do you have a source for this? I'm pretty sure that things like daggers would count as Tiny objects. \$\endgroup\$ – nick012000 Dec 10 '19 at 4:09
  • \$\begingroup\$ I believe it's based on the size of the intended user \$\endgroup\$ – Smart_TJ Dec 10 '19 at 11:02

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.