2
\$\begingroup\$

Would you add your proficiency bonus to a pebble from the magic stone cantrip? The spell description says nothing about it.

The magic stone spell description states (EEPC, p. 20; XGtE, p. 160):

You touch one to three pebbles and imbue them with magic. You or someone else can make a ranged spell attack with one of the pebbles by throwing it or hurling it with a sling. If thrown, it has a range of 60 feet. If someone else attacks with the pebble, that attacker adds your spellcasting ability modifier, not the attacker’s, to the attack roll. On a hit, the target takes bludgeoning damage equal to 1d6 + your spellcasting ability modifier. Hit or miss, the spell then ends on the stone. If you cast this spell again, the spell ends early on any pebbles still affected by it.

Would this be considered an improvised weapon that wouldn't get the proficiency bonus added to the attack?

\$\endgroup\$
8
\$\begingroup\$

Yes, you're making a ranged spell attack

Magic stone (Elemental Evil Player's Companion, 160) states:

You [...] can make a ranged spell attack [...]

All creatures are proficient in [ranged] spell attacks, so you are proficient in this one as well. Chapter 10 of the PHB covers this:

Your attack bonus with a spell attack equals your spellcasting ability modifier + your proficiency bonus.

However, magic stone has the additional caveat that you use the original caster's modifier:

If someone else attacks with the pebble, that attacker adds your spellcasting ability modifier, not the attacker’s, to the attack roll.

|improve this answer|||||
\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ I think it'd be good to include a quote showing you are proficient in ranged spell attacks, even if you don't actually have any spells \$\endgroup\$ – Medix2 Dec 9 '19 at 22:21
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ @Medix2 Took me awhile, but got to it! \$\endgroup\$ – NautArch Dec 10 '19 at 15:23
  • \$\begingroup\$ I wonder if proficiency would be added if someone else throws it. \$\endgroup\$ – RallozarX Dec 10 '19 at 16:52
  • \$\begingroup\$ @RallozarX That's a general rule about spellcasting. It doesn't require you to be a spellcaster. \$\endgroup\$ – NautArch Dec 10 '19 at 16:55

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.