4
\$\begingroup\$

I want to make a level 2 monk that multi-classed into blood hunter for 1 level.

If I did that, would I be able to use crimson rite on my body, and have my unarmed strikes be 2d4 + my dex modifier? And if I was able to "cast" crimson rite on my hand, would I have to do it twice for both my hands or would 1 crimson rite count for both of my hands? Because that would be 1 weapon.

\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ Hi and welcome to the site! Take the tour if you haven't already and visit the help center if you have further questions. Additionally, it would be helpful to include the text / a quote of the actual ability in question \$\endgroup\$ – Medix2 Dec 12 '19 at 7:18
6
\$\begingroup\$

Unarmed strikes are not weapons, so they do not work with Crimson Rite

The Blood Hunter's Crimson Rite feature states:

As a bonus action, you imbue a single weapon with the elemental energy of a known rite until your next short or long rest [...]

However, unarmed strikes do not count as weapons and so this feature cannot actually be used on an unarmed strike. The following is a quote from the Sage Advice Compendium that shows this fact:

[...] For example, an unarmed strike counts as a melee weapon attack, even though the attacker’s body isn’t considered a weapon [...]

There was also an errata to the Player's Handbook:

Weapons (p. 149). Unarmed strike has been removed from the Weapons table.

\$\endgroup\$

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for?Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.