9
\$\begingroup\$

I know that you can only hold one shield at a time but the description of the Aegis of the Raven says that its plus magic bonus to AC stacks up with the current pluses from a shield that is currently used. This description about bonuses does not make sense if you can't wield both shields at the same time.

Here is the description:

While holding this shield, you have a +3 bonus to AC. This bonus is in addition to the shield's normal bonus to AC.

\$\endgroup\$
23
\$\begingroup\$

The Aegis of the Raven Queen states:

While holding this shield, you have a +3 bonus to AC. This bonus is in addition to the shield's normal bonus to AC.

That's your normal shield bonus of +2 for using a shield, plus another +3 from that particular shield's magic, for a total of +5. You don't have to use a second shield, nor should you.

You can wield two shields at once, but only the better one would apply to your AC, so there's usually no point in wielding twin shields. The relevant rule in the shield description simply says (emphasis mine):

You can benefit from only one shield at a time.

\$\endgroup\$
  • 4
    \$\begingroup\$ In a previous edition (or sidedition?) of the game, there were surprisingly effective "shield bash" builds that would dual-wield shields, using a two-weapon combat style with spiked or enchanted shields. Which is generally hilarious to think about. Still couldn't get the AC bonus from both shields at once, though. \$\endgroup\$ – gatherer818 Dec 15 '19 at 13:49
  • 4
    \$\begingroup\$ @TimothyAWiseman if you are expecting something to take out one of your shields... \$\endgroup\$ – Revolver_Ocelot Dec 15 '19 at 14:58
  • 6
    \$\begingroup\$ @TimothyAWiseman if there is a plot reason to wield two shields, eg. a challenge/dare/bet, a magical barrier requiring two shields as key, acting in a play... \$\endgroup\$ – WakiNadiVellir Dec 15 '19 at 16:36
  • 3
    \$\begingroup\$ @TimothyAWiseman I generally approach d20 system questions as if I don't ever know half of what can be done. 5e particularly I'm only an "expert" in the core rules. I would not be remotely surprised if there were an Unearthed Arcana Dwarf-only Fighter Specialization or Eberron Warforged Barbarian subtype that dual-wields shields to significant effect. \$\endgroup\$ – gatherer818 Dec 16 '19 at 4:56
  • 4
    \$\begingroup\$ To state it even more concisely: when it says "the shield", it means the Aegis of the Raven Queen (which is a shield) and not some other shield. \$\endgroup\$ – anaximander Dec 16 '19 at 13:42

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.