8
\$\begingroup\$

When I roll in Roll20 (with my crossbow as an example) I get output, like below, in the game log. Why are there two numbers?

In the below example, there is the number 8 and the number 25.

The question also pertains to the Assassinate ability roll below the crossbow one.

Example of Roll20 rolling 2 attack rolls

I'm using the default character sheet for D&D 5e - 5th Edition OGL by Roll20.

\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ What character sheet do you use? \$\endgroup\$ – enkryptor Dec 15 '19 at 20:03
  • \$\begingroup\$ Whatever the default is for 5e. \$\endgroup\$ – Red2678 Dec 15 '19 at 20:09
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ @Red2678: I assume you mean this sheet: 5th Edition OGL by Roll20 \$\endgroup\$ – V2Blast Dec 16 '19 at 7:38
  • \$\begingroup\$ Welcome to RPG.SE! Take the tour if you haven't already, and check out the help center for more guidance. \$\endgroup\$ – V2Blast Dec 16 '19 at 7:39
28
\$\begingroup\$

It's for (dis)advantage

You're playing D&D 5e, there is the rule for (dis)advantage there:

you roll a second d20 when you make the roll. Use the higher of the two rolls if you have advantage, and use the lower roll if you have disadvantage

The charsheet you're using has the special feature for this rule:

With the Roll20 5th Edition OGL Sheet, the default sheet settings has Advantage set to always rolled for convenience purposes.

Your particular character has the "always roll advantage" option turned on:

enter image description here

That means every time you make a roll the system actually makes two rolls. You take higher result if there was an advantage, lower result if there was a disadvantage or a particular result (the left one, for instance) every time there was neither advantage nor disadvantage. That helps all the participants to save a little time.

If you don't want these double rolls, you can switch the option to "never roll advantage" (or ask your DM to do that). There is also "query advantage" option, when the system asks you if you roll with (dis)advantage every time.

Assassinate damage is another thing

The lower set of numbers is due to the Assassinate feature — the first number is standard damage, the second is the automatic critical damage if the target is surprised (thanks @Journer for this catch).

\$\endgroup\$
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Can you deal with the double damage result as well \$\endgroup\$ – Dale M Dec 15 '19 at 21:53
  • 3
    \$\begingroup\$ To incorporate into the answer: the lower set of numbers is due to the Assassinate feature- the first number is standard damage, the second is the automatic critical damage if the target is surprised. \$\endgroup\$ – Journer Dec 15 '19 at 22:18
  • \$\begingroup\$ Thanks @enkryptor and @Journer! \$\endgroup\$ – Red2678 Dec 16 '19 at 12:33

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.