This question pertains specifically to D&D Adventurers League rules. I've got a character concept that I want to implement in a Forgotten Realms campaign, and I'm trying to formulate a plausible interpretation of RAW that will allow it. The double-bladed scimitar is typically thought to be unavailable in Forgotten Realms play because it is printed in the Rising from the Last War book (on page 22, for those interested), which is in the Eberron setting rather than the Forgotten Realms setting.
The general rule that I see a lot of people cite is that DDAL uses "the PHB+1 rule" to determine which options players can use. However, I don't think it's technically correct RAW. The actual text of the rule in the Adventurers League Player's Guide is:
"Forgotten Realms characters can choose race and class options from the Player’s Handbook and one other resource - a rule called PHB+1" (bold emphasis mine)
I would argue that, using RAW, the PHB+1 rule prohibits you from using race or class options from another book - but not from using equipment from another book. In fact, I believe that the ALPG section on equipment supports this interpretation. It states that:
"Your character can sell or buy spell components and equipment found in the Player’s Handbook or any player resources." (bold emphasis mine)
If equipment were meant to be limited to the same rulebook as your selected +1, then it would say that instead of using the word any, and equipment would be included with race and class in the list of PHB+1 restrictions. Now, I'm willing to admit that because Rising from the Last War is not included in the Forgotten Realms ALPG list of PHB+1 sources, this would preclude players from buying or selling double-bladed scimitars in the Forgotten Realms. But what about creating one with the Pact of the Blade warlock feature? The relevant text of the feature states:
You can choose the form that this melee weapon lakes each time you create it (see chapter 5 for weapon options).
I can see how you could interpret the parenthetical statement to mean that only weapons from PHB chapter 5 are valid options. However, I argue that there is a different (and equally valid) interpretation: the parenthetical simply means that the chapter 5 weapons are among the weapon options - not necessarily a comprehensive list. The fact that it's relegated to a parenthetical would imply that this is a suggestion; if a restriction were intended, it would be explicitly stated as part of the sentence (i.e. "choose a form from among the melee weapons presented in chapter 5"). Thus, my interpretation would be that you can choose the form of any melee weapon when you create a weapon with Pact of the Blade.
So, with this all in mind, my argument goes like this:
- Pact of the Blade can be used to create the form of any melee weapon
- A double-bladed scimitar is a melee weapon
- While you can't buy or sell equipment from Rising from the Last War in the Forgotten Realms setting, there is no rule that explicitly states that you can't acquire such equipment by other means (such as summoning)
- In the absence of a specific rule prohibiting you from doing so, you should be able to use Pact of the Blade to summon a double-bladed scimitar
So now to the question: does anyone know of a specific rule that would cause the above logic to break down? Is there something I've missed somewhere?