Tomb of Levistus eldritch invocation (from Xanathar's Guide to Everything, p. 57):

Tomb of Levistus

As a reaction when you take damage, you can entomb yourself in ice, which melts away at the end of your next turn. You gain 10 temporary hit points per warlock level, which takes as much of the triggering damage as possible. Immediately after you take the damage, you gain vulnerability to fire damage, your speed is reduced to 0, and you are incapacitated. These effects, including any remaining temporary hit points, all end when the ice melts.

With a Tiefling warlock Infernal heritage (Racial) grants her fire resistance

How would this invocation (Specific) interact with this racial feat (General)?

Do they cancel?
Or does the magic of the Tomb of Levistus (Specific) overpower infernal heritage (General) completely?

Which applies here? General Vs. Specific rules, or, Resistance vs. vulnerability rules?

  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ I'm pretty sure this is a duplicate of this question on Do vulnerability and resistance cancel out?. Do you agree? \$\endgroup\$ – NautArch Dec 19 '19 at 16:09
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ @NautArch I disagree. it's more so Does general (Racial) get trumped by Tomb of Levistus (specific) – That question didn't seem very helpful... \$\endgroup\$ – Samara Markcosian Dec 19 '19 at 16:47
  • \$\begingroup\$ I'd recommend reading Lino Frank Ciaralli's answer then, in particular the comments which state that this is not a case of specific and general \$\endgroup\$ – Medix2 Dec 19 '19 at 17:44
  • \$\begingroup\$ @Medix2 it seems that this answer had some negative backlash from the community, -13 votes in fact \$\endgroup\$ – Samara Markcosian Dec 19 '19 at 17:52
  • 4
    \$\begingroup\$ Do you have any reason to believe Specific vs General applies? If so, adding it to the question might highlight where you confusion is and better whether or not it is a dupe. \$\endgroup\$ – Someone_Evil Dec 19 '19 at 17:56

Vulnerability and Resistance are not mutually exclusive so there is no general vs specific

The general/specific rule only applies when two rules couldn't occur simultaneously such as two things changing your Strength score, or one thing making you prone and the other explicitly making you not prone. However, with vulnerability and resistance, there is no such clause or requirement and in fact there exists the following quote:

Resistance and then vulnerability are applied after all other modifiers to damage.

- Player's Handbook (page 197)

The fact that they apply in an order shows that a creature can be affected by both at once. What this means is that odd damage values will lower by one and even damage values will remain the same. Again, this only occurs because nothing in the rules actually prevents you from having both resistance and vulnerability simultaneously and so the specific/general rule never applies.


Resistance and vulnerability, while doing directly opposite things, aren't contradicting effects. They stack to a net zero effect (ignoring rounding).

This is similar to having advantage and disadvantage at the same time, or having both a +2 and -2 to a roll. To effects interacting with the same thing is not nessecarily a matter of specific versus general, only when they contradict in a non-stackable way.


Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.