1
\$\begingroup\$

I'm seeking for the swarm intelligence of this forum because I couldn't find rules for it:

I have a high crit weapon (scimitar) which is

  1. magically enhanced (+1)

and for which I have

  1. a weapon focus (+1).

What adds to the damage on a crit?

  1. The maximized power damage, including the named attribute's bonus (+5), i.e.: 8+5+1+1=15

  2. The d6 for a crit with the specific magical weapon, i.e.: 15+d6

And here my problems start ...

3a. Do I roll a D8 for scimitar only?

OR

3b. Does the magical enhancement bonus add to that roll, too?

3c. Does the weapon focus add to that damage roll, too?

3d. Or are these two bonuses only included once per attack and that as part of the maximized power damage?

Thanks a lot for your opinions!

Inge Tietz

\$\endgroup\$
6
\$\begingroup\$

High crit only adds the weapon dice.

From the PHB, p217 (emphasis mine):

High Crit: A high crit weapon deals more damage when you score a critical hit with it. A critical hit deals maximum weapon damage and an extra 1[W] at 1st–10th levels, an extra 2[W] at 11th–20th levels, and an extra 3[W] at 21st–30th levels. This extra damage is in addition to any critical damage the weapon supplies if it is a magic weapon.

The scimitar's damage die, 1[W], is a d8, so from 1st to 10th level it adds 1d8 damage on a crit. High crit does not add a second damage roll, it adds extra damage to the normal damage roll.

\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ Damage Rolls, p. 276: "In addition, any of the following factors might apply to a damage roll: ✦ Racial or feat bonuses ✦ An enhancement bonus (usually from a magic weapon or an implement) ✦ An item bonus ✦ A power bonus ✦ Untyped bonuses" ------------------------------------------------------------ And on a high crit I ROLL the extra damage ... \$\endgroup\$ – Inge Tietz Jan 1 at 13:56
  • \$\begingroup\$ @IngeTietz See edit. High crit is itself extra damage; it is not a second damage roll. \$\endgroup\$ – Oblivious Sage Jan 1 at 15:02

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for?Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.