3
\$\begingroup\$

The PHB, page 88 states about metamagic feats that spontaneous usage of one metamagic feat increases the casting time to a full round action, or an additional full-round action if the original effect takes longer than a standard action to activate.

If a second metamagic feat is used in conjunction with a single spell, does that add extra time beyond the first? Once the first metamagic feat is added, the effect has a longer casting time... so a second metamagic feat should possibly add an additional full-round to the time....

The book does not seem to clearly state either way.

\$\endgroup\$
2
  • \$\begingroup\$ “Powers manifested using metapsionic feats take the same time as manifesting the powers normally unless the feat description specifically says otherwise.” \$\endgroup\$
    – KRyan
    Dec 22 '19 at 13:48
  • \$\begingroup\$ Thanks for the psionics quote... which is odd phraseology considering the problem with psionic focus. \$\endgroup\$
    – nijineko
    Dec 22 '19 at 19:38
4
\$\begingroup\$

It takes only one full-round regardless of the number of feats

A sorcerer spell which has one or more metamagic feats consumes a single full-round action, regardless of the number of metamagic feats applied. This is clarified by the Rules Compendium, p. 12, "Spontaneous Metamagic Spells":

Spontaneous casters, including those who normally prepare spells but can spontaneously cast particular spells, must take more time to cast a metamagic spell—a spell enhanced by one or more metamagic feats. If a spell's normal casting time is 1 standard action, casting a metamagic version of the spell is a full-round action for a spontaneous spellcaster.

\$\endgroup\$

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.