13
\$\begingroup\$

All dragons have some type of resistance or immunity against certain materials and energy types.(fire, acid, electricity, cold, steel, adamantine).

Can we kill a dragon with the related element as a drowning condition? They have lungs right? Lets say we want to kill a red dragon, can we make it drown in lava?

\$\endgroup\$
20
\$\begingroup\$

Dragons do need to breathe (note that black dragons have the ability water breathing, indicating that a dragon without it can't breathe under water and is subject to drowning rules), so anything that asphyxiates them will kill them, regardless of the element. A dragon's resistance to damage of certain elements doesn't save them from needing to breathe, just from being directly injured by that element.

How long a dragon can hold its breath would just use the normal drowning rules, so how long depends on a dragon's Constitution score. (But there's nothing to stop a DM from house-ruling that dragon physiology works differently in their game's setting, so caveat slayer.)

\$\endgroup\$

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.