-1
\$\begingroup\$

So let's say I deliberately fall let's say 20 feet, I will take 2d6 points of damage. As a monk at 4th level I get slow fall which will let me nullify fall damage 5× monk level. So at 4th level, I get 20 nullification. So even under the scenario when the die maxes out which would be 12, so I fall prone when I land?

The rules in this case say:

A fall from a great height is one of the most common hazards facing an adventurer. At the end of a fall, a creature takes 1d6 bludgeoning damage for every 10 feet it fell, to a maximum of 20d6. The creature lands prone unless it avoids taking damage from the fall.

Player's Handbook, p. 183

So do I fall prone or no?

\$\endgroup\$
  • 8
    \$\begingroup\$ Is there a reason you think this happens or do not happen? It's not really clear to me what is confusing you about this. \$\endgroup\$ – Someone_Evil Dec 31 '19 at 12:02
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Welcome to RPG.SE! Take the tour if you haven't already, and check out the help center for more guidance. \$\endgroup\$ – V2Blast Dec 31 '19 at 18:20
33
\$\begingroup\$

No

You do not land prone when you reduce the damage to zero. You've basically answered your own question with this PHB quote (page 183, "Falling"):

The creature lands prone, unless it avoids taking damage from the fall.

You did not take falling damage, so you do not land prone.

\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ Well no harm in confirming XD \$\endgroup\$ – Saarthak Vinayak Jan 2 at 12:01

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.