12
\$\begingroup\$

Based on my understanding, activating a Tentacle Rod requires the "Use an Object" action. As a 3rd level warlock with Pact of the Chain and an imp familiar, can I order my imp to carry and activate a Tentacle Rod to attack enemies?

\$\endgroup\$
12
\$\begingroup\$

Yes.

The Tentacle Rod does not actually cause the wielder to make attacks. The tentacles attack, on the wielder's command:

While holding the rod, you can use an action to direct each tentacle to attack a creature you can see within 15 feet of you.

Note that it doesn't matter whether this is an Attack action, a Use an Object action, an item-specific action, or any other kind. Familiars can't attack using any action, or by any other means (such as opportunity attacks)*. For example, they couldn't cast green-flame blade, because it requires making a melee attack. But the Tentacle Rod is special: you're not attacking with it, just holding it and pointing at targets.

*Pact of the Chain familiars do get a narrow exception to that, but it's not relevant here.

\$\endgroup\$
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ If you want you could quote the items actual description: "While holding the rod, you can use an action to direct each tentacle to attack a creature you can see within 15 feet of you. Each tentacle makes a melee attack roll with a +9 bonus. On a hit, the tentacle deals 1d6 bludgeoning damage. If you hit a target with all three tentacles, it must make a DC 15 Constitution saving throw..." \$\endgroup\$ – Medix2 Jan 2 at 20:08
  • \$\begingroup\$ @Medix2 Sure, why not. \$\endgroup\$ – Mark Wells Jan 2 at 20:39

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.