12
\$\begingroup\$

Based on my understanding, activating a Tentacle Rod requires the "Use an Object" action. As a 3rd level warlock with Pact of the Chain and an imp familiar, can I order my imp to carry and activate a Tentacle Rod to attack enemies?

\$\endgroup\$
2
13
\$\begingroup\$

Yes.

The Tentacle Rod does not actually cause the wielder to make attacks. The tentacles attack, on the wielder's command:

While holding the rod, you can use an action to direct each tentacle to attack a creature you can see within 15 feet of you.

Note that it doesn't matter whether this is an Attack action, a Use an Object action, an item-specific action, or any other kind. Familiars can't attack using any action, or by any other means (such as opportunity attacks)*. For example, they couldn't cast green-flame blade, because it requires making a melee attack. But the Tentacle Rod is special: you're not attacking with it, just holding it and pointing at targets.

*Pact of the Chain familiars do get a narrow exception to that, but it's not relevant here.

\$\endgroup\$
3
  • 4
    \$\begingroup\$ If you want you could quote the items actual description: "While holding the rod, you can use an action to direct each tentacle to attack a creature you can see within 15 feet of you. Each tentacle makes a melee attack roll with a +9 bonus. On a hit, the tentacle deals 1d6 bludgeoning damage. If you hit a target with all three tentacles, it must make a DC 15 Constitution saving throw..." \$\endgroup\$ Jan 2 '20 at 20:08
  • \$\begingroup\$ @Medix2 Sure, why not. \$\endgroup\$
    – Mark Wells
    Jan 2 '20 at 20:39
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ I see that the tentacles make the attacks, but a target only makes the saving throw if you hit it with all three tentacles, not if the rod hits it, or if all three tentacles hit it. I think a case could be made the other way here. \$\endgroup\$ Jun 11 '21 at 2:41

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .