0
\$\begingroup\$

Is there anything in the rules that say a familiar can attune to magic items?

I've seen lots of questions about if familiars can attune to items and the community seems to agree on that they can. However, my DM will not allow this without seeing a specific ruling that they can, as it is not enough for them to simply not have a ruling against it.

Has Jeremy Crawford put out anything that confirms familiar can attune to and use magic items? Did I miss something in the rules? Or is it simply, nothing says they can't?

\$\endgroup\$
2
  • 3
    \$\begingroup\$ There's nothing in the rules that say a dog CAN'T play baksetball! \$\endgroup\$
    – goodguy5
    Jan 3 '20 at 19:13
  • \$\begingroup\$ @DavidCoffron the DM states they aren't smart enough to attune and says even if it could, it can't use any magic items like a tentacle rod because the rod makes an attack roll. (Even though the familiar is activating a magic item, not making an attack roll) \$\endgroup\$ Jan 7 '20 at 15:40

Browse other questions tagged .