Are there proscriptions in AL to prevent a transmuter wizard from owning multiple transmuter's stones? The idea is to keep the ones producted by his simulacra and keeping them also in different modules. Is this allowed?


1 Answer 1


I read through the Adventurers League Players Guide v9.1 and the Adventurers League FAQ v9.0, and I could not find a rule preventing this.

It appears that you could get arbitrarily many transmuter's stones in this way. Initially you would be limited by the material component cost of 1500gp per simulacrum spell, but once your simulacra get wish you can remove that limitation. These related questions have more details:

Can the simulacrum of a transmuter create its own transmuter's stone? (answer is yes)

What happens to a wizard's transmuter's stone when she dies? (answer is it still exists)

Adventurers League has rules about trading magic items, but the transmuter's stone does not appear to be a magic item per that definition. (If it were a magic item, transmuter wizards would have to count it as part of their own magic item limit, which seems unfair.)

Adventurers League also has rules about simulacrums (preventing you from exploits involving wish or chained simulacrum) but this specific exploit is not prohibited.

However, please note that the Adventurers League DM has Rule 0 authority over what happens at their table. It's likely that many Adventurers League DMs would consider your plan to be an abuse and would tell you that it's forbidden at their table, even though there's no official rule against it.

  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Note that the material cost of simulacrum can be bypassed once wish is an option, making this a lot more practical. \$\endgroup\$
    – Red Orca
    Jan 6, 2020 at 18:31
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ One thing to note is that only one stone would actually belong to the wizard. Once the simulacra are gone, there would be no way to change the "mode" of the other stones, nor would there be a way to use the Master Transmuter feature with them. Both of these features only work for the stone that specifically belongs to the wizard. \$\endgroup\$ Jan 6, 2020 at 19:47
  • \$\begingroup\$ p. 11 of the FAQ does mention: "You Are You; and So Is It. If a simulacrum you have created casts wish, both you and your simulacrum suffer the stress associated with casting the spell—including the risk of being forever unable to cast wish again. The inability to cast wish extends to any simulacrum you create in the future, as well as wish cast by deities via Divine Intervention or other, similar class features." There's no mention of whether this extends to things besides wish, though... \$\endgroup\$
    – V2Blast
    Jan 11, 2020 at 21:56

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .