6
\$\begingroup\$

The Rogue's Sneak Attack says

Beginning at 1st level, you know how to strike subtly and exploit a foe’s distraction. Once per turn, you can deal an extra 1d6 damage to one creature you hit with an attack if you have advantage on the attack roll. The attack must use a finesse or a ranged weapon.

You don’t need advantage on the attack roll if another enemy of the target is within 5 feet of it, that enemy isn’t incapacitated, and you don’t have disadvantage on the attack roll.

So my question is can it be used to deal extra damage to objects with normal HP.

The object in question in case it matters is the Soulmonger from Tomb of Annihilation

\$\endgroup\$
19
\$\begingroup\$

Sneak Attack only works against creatures

The Sneak Attack feature states:

Beginning at 1st level, you know how to strike subtly and exploit a foe’s distraction. Once per turn, you can deal an extra 1d6 damage to one creature you hit with an attack if you have advantage on the attack roll. The attack must use a finesse or a ranged weapon.

You don’t need advantage on the attack roll if another enemy of the target is within 5 feet of it, that enemy isn’t incapacitated, and you don’t have disadvantage on the attack roll.

The feature is described as exploiting a foe's distraction; you can't distract inanimate objects. Additionally the feature explicitly requires you to damage a creature and not an object. Finally the section on when you don't need advantage involves an enemy of your target; objects don't (typically) have enemies. Both the description of the feature and its mechanics prevent it from being used against objects.


That said, your GM may rule otherwise for things such as sentient (animate) objects or even the artefact in question here.

| improve this answer | |
\$\endgroup\$
10
\$\begingroup\$

No

From the Sneak Attack feature (emphasis added):

you can deal an extra 1d6 damage to one creature you hit

Objects are not creatures, and so Sneak Attack does not work on objects. Unless your DM is lenient, of course.

| improve this answer | |
\$\endgroup\$

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.