7
\$\begingroup\$

Is there an official ruling on what happens when an object made by True Polymorph is broken?

Situation:

  1. True Polymorph is cast on a Human, turning them into a Twig.
  2. An hour passes, making the effect permanent.
  3. The Twig is snapped in half.

What is the outcome?

  • Does the Twig revert to the Human it was before the spell when snapped?
  • Does dealing damage to the object apply remaining damage above the object's health to the Human, if or when it reverts?
  • Does it remain a Twig, just broken in twain?
  • Does dispelling part of the broken Twig dispel the entire True Polymorph?

Are there official rulings on any of the above? If so, what are they?

\$\endgroup\$
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Related: What is the meaning of 'permanent' in description of True Polymorph? \$\endgroup\$ – Someone_Evil Jan 13 at 3:58
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ Could you provide some clarifications: Does "Does the Twig revert to the Human it was before the spell?" mean "does the twig revert when snapped in half" or "is the human still ok when the spell ends"? Does "overflow object damage" mean "does the human take damage when the twig is snapped"? \$\endgroup\$ – gszavae Jan 13 at 5:59
8
\$\begingroup\$

Nothing special happens

  • Does the Twig automatically revert when the twig is damaged? No, the spell doesn't say to do that.
  • Is the Human the same as before the spell was cast? Yes, the spell says that creatures return to their normal form, there is nothing about carrying over damage.
  • Does it take overflow object damage? Object damage is for attacking objects, snapping a twig is not an attack.
  • Does it remain a Twig, just broken? Yes, you snapped the twig, so now you have a broken twig.
  • Does dispelling part of the broken Twig dispel the entire True Polymorph? Yes, there is only 1 spell, so targeting either part will dispel the spell.
  • Does damage to the object become damage to the creature? Nothing says that hurting the object hurts the target.
| improve this answer | |
\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ Would anything change if the twig were "attacked" to snap it in half? Such as being attacked by an axe which chopped it in twain? \$\endgroup\$ – Axoren Jan 13 at 6:37
  • \$\begingroup\$ @Axoren The only change is that you use the rules for attacking objects. The end result is still having the twig in two halves. \$\endgroup\$ – gszavae Jan 13 at 7:07
  • 3
    \$\begingroup\$ I'm going to guess this needs some DM rulings. Otherwise you'd have to think about where the human ends up if you dispel one part of the twig and the other is far away from it. \$\endgroup\$ – Erik Jan 13 at 10:47
  • \$\begingroup\$ @Erik Correct, I'd probably rule that they reappear wherever it was dispelled though. \$\endgroup\$ – gszavae Jan 13 at 23:43

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.