3
\$\begingroup\$

I am a conjurer and I have a particularly nefarious idea. Granted there are monsters I can summon with the "Swallow Whole (Ex)" ability, and I then dismiss my summon after the summoned creature has swallowed the desired target(s).

What happens to the unfortunate souls that have been eaten by the creature?

Will they be left behind, or be taken with the creature to its native plane?

  • The creatures swallowed are still alive at the moment of dismissal.

  • Does it matter if the creature is instead dispelled or banished?

\$\endgroup\$
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ Related, maybe dupe, if you extrapolate that what applies to carried objects applies to carried creatures: Can summoned creatures take items back with them? \$\endgroup\$ – Carcer Jan 13 at 23:47
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ @Carcer: Definitely not a duplicate, albeit related. \$\endgroup\$ – V2Blast Jan 14 at 1:05
2
\$\begingroup\$

It stays

As this Answer states from the question Can summoned creatures take items back with them?

The FAQ answers it (p.91)

What happens to a summoned monster’s equipment when it dies or the spell ends? What if it’s not carrying the equipment any more? What if it’s carrying something new? When a summoned creature goes away, so does everything it came with. If it’s holding or wearing something it didn’t appear with, that item drops to the ground in the creature’s space after it disappears.

If we only consider summoned monsters with a temporary duration spell, I believe the same thing would happen if the creature dies, the spell ends,if you dismiss the spell,use dismissal,banishment or even dispel magic on them.

However for a creature that is on the material plane (that wasn't summoned with a temporary spell) targeted with the spells Banishment or Dismissal it seems like there is no official ruling about it, I guess all their equipments goes with them (I don't know about newly acquired equipment that could be another question on its own) but since only extraplanar creatures can be targeted they would not bring the other creature with them, unless it is also another extraplanar creature (and that you also would try to target with Banishment).

But I think you can't target the swallowed creature though because it would benefit from total cover and total concealment as well.

Magic works in mysterious ways... it does not always make sense...

\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ Can someone help on dispel for a summon and total cover and concealment? and if dismissal or banishment has a rule about equipment. could not find anything in the FAQ. \$\endgroup\$ – Maxime Cuillerier Jan 14 at 9:28
  • \$\begingroup\$ And newly acquired equipment for the extraplanar creatures on our plan, but I guess that could be an entirely different question. \$\endgroup\$ – Maxime Cuillerier Jan 14 at 9:35
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ A summon can be targeted by a targeted dispel and then be resolved like any other dispel magic spell targeting a spell effect. That much I know for certain since I've employed that tactic before. Though there are also ways a conjure can heighten the spellcaster check needed to achieve a dispel magic on a summoned creature, thus making it very hard to dispel and making options like banishment a more reliabpe way of dealing with summons. \$\endgroup\$ – Hyfnae Jan 14 at 11:13
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ When PCs are on a plane they aren't native to, they gain the subtype extraplanar which, in turn, allows PCs to be targets of banishment and dismissal spells! If that happens and the DM rules that the PCs appear on their native planes, like, naked or even just without the treasure they acquired while planehopping, I'm pretty sure the DM's car will be vandalized. \$\endgroup\$ – Hey I Can Chan Jan 14 at 13:52
  • \$\begingroup\$ Yes but you can t target a swallowed creature anyways so it will not work IMO but a DM could rule it works. They will be sent to different planes though which could save the PC too. Funny comment xD \$\endgroup\$ – Maxime Cuillerier Jan 14 at 15:13

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.