11
\$\begingroup\$

Based on the answer in this question Can you use the pull effect of Thorn Whip if the enemy is within 5'? if a creature is unwillingly pushed/pulled/dropped or otherwise forced to end its turn in your space, what happens?

I can't find anything saying what happens. All I find is that you can't willingly end your turn in another creatures space.

What happens if you start your turn in the same space as another creature? Does anything happen to the creature that is forced to be in your space?

\$\endgroup\$
14
\$\begingroup\$

No effect other than being close.

The space rules are mum about effects of starting a turn in the same square as another creature.

The creature in the same square is uncomfortably close for combat.

The moving around other creatures rules do point out that you can't willingly stay in that situation:

Whether a creature is a friend or an enemy, you can't willingly end your move in its space.

Since your turn includes a move and you can't end your move still in the same space as another creature. So using your move to travel 0 feet (staying in place) is not an option. Something has to give. Either you have to move the other creature with your abilities or move out of the square.

Optionally use the squeezing rules.

It could be construed that occupying the same square as another in combat involves restricting ones self in a similar fashion to squeezing through a restricted space. If this is reasonable for your table, both you and the other creature would have disadvantage on attack and dexterity rolls until the situation resolves.

|improve this answer|||||
\$\endgroup\$
8
\$\begingroup\$

It's unclear whether you are required to spend movement to leave the space

There have already been quite a few questions on similar scenarios and the following are quotes from answers:

It's pretty clear that people don't agree on whether the rules require you to leave the space on your next turn or not. All we know is that the rules state this:

Whether a creature is a friend or an enemy, you can't willingly end your move in its space.

Does ending your turn counts as ending your move? Can you "end your move" on a turn where you haven't actually moved yet? It's unclear and not agreed upon.


Here are some comments that were left on those answers:

Set 1:

If Anne never take a move, how did she end her move?

I agree with your assessment; while it doesn't make that much sense, I don't think Anne is forced to move on her turn.

Set 2:

But if you don't start your move, can you end it?

[...] You always start your move every turn automatically - there's no Action or Bonus Action or Move Action (those don't even exist) to activate the ability to move each turn [...]

|improve this answer|||||
\$\endgroup\$

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.