Based on the answer in this question Can you use the pull effect of Thorn Whip if the enemy is within 5'? if a creature is unwillingly pushed/pulled/dropped or otherwise forced to end its turn in your space, what happens?

I can't find anything saying what happens. All I find is that you can't willingly end your turn in another creatures space.

What happens if you start your turn in the same space as another creature? Does anything happen to the creature that is forced to be in your space?


2 Answers 2


No effect other than being close.

The space rules are mum about effects of starting a turn in the same square as another creature.

Creatures can't willingly stay in the same space as another.

The creatures in the same space are uncomfortably close for combat. The moving around other creatures rules for combat state you can't willingly stay in that situation:

Whether a creature is a friend or an enemy, you can't willingly end your move in its space.

Can't choose to eschew moving nor choose to move 0.

In combat, the characters are moving:

In combat, characters and monsters are in constant motion, often using movement and position to gain the upper hand.

The players can choose how much of their move to use, including 0:

You can use as much or as little of your speed as you like on your turn

The rules state you are in motion and you can't end your move still in the same space as another creature. So using your move to travel 0 feet (staying in place) is not an option. Something has to give. Either you have to move the other creature out of the space or move out of the space yourself.

Tabaxi Hunter and Tabaxi Agility

The language used to describe features of tabaxi support moving 0 during a turn:

Once it uses this ability, the tabaxi can’t use it again until it moves 0 feet on one of its turns.

Optionally use the squeezing rules.

It could be construed that occupying the same square as another in combat involves restricting ones self in a similar fashion to squeezing through a restricted space. If this is reasonable for your table, both you and the other creature would have disadvantage on attack and dexterity rolls until the situation resolves.


It's unclear whether you are required to spend movement to leave the space

There have already been quite a few questions on similar scenarios and the following are quotes from answers:

It's pretty clear that people don't agree on whether the rules require you to leave the space on your next turn or not. All we know is that the rules state this:

Whether a creature is a friend or an enemy, you can't willingly end your move in its space.

Does ending your turn counts as ending your move? Can you "end your move" on a turn where you haven't actually moved yet? It's unclear and not agreed upon.

Here are some comments that were left on those answers:

Set 1:

If Anne never take a move, how did she end her move?

I agree with your assessment; while it doesn't make that much sense, I don't think Anne is forced to move on her turn.

Set 2:

But if you don't start your move, can you end it?

[...] You always start your move every turn automatically - there's no Action or Bonus Action or Move Action (those don't even exist) to activate the ability to move each turn [...]


You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .