12
\$\begingroup\$

The spell glyph of warding states:

Casting time: 1 hour

[...]

You can store a prepared spell of 3rd level or lower in the glyph by casting it as part of creating the glyph [...] If you create a spell glyph, you can store any spell of up to the same level as the slot you use for the glyph of warding.

(PHB 246)

Can you cast a spell with a casting time of 1 hour or longer as part of casting a 1 hour spell? If yes, would this make the casting time of the glyph 1 hour + the casting time of the stored spell? Or is this a way to shorten casting times for 200gp a piece?

\$\endgroup\$
4
  • \$\begingroup\$ Can you provide an example of spell of 3rd level that exceeds 1h casting time? \$\endgroup\$ – Krzysztof Skibiński Jan 20 '20 at 10:27
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ @KrzysztofSkibiński Plant growth can be cast for 8 hours. But you can upcast the glyph to store higher level spells. \$\endgroup\$ – Szega Jan 20 '20 at 10:29
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Related (potentially a duplicate): "Can you store a spell that takes longer than 1 action into a glyph of warding?" \$\endgroup\$ – Medix2 Mar 6 '20 at 6:40
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ @Medix2 The Q focuses on "1 action or more" (I do not know where they got it), and this focuses on "longer than casting GoW itself" (referring to "as part of"). That one also poses a question about activation time, while this one deals with casting time. \$\endgroup\$ – Szega Mar 6 '20 at 10:38
12
\$\begingroup\$

You can store any spell of the appropriate level in the glyph of warding*

Glyph of warding states (emphasis mine):

When you inscribe the glyph, choose explosive runes or a spell glyph.

[...]

Spell Glyph. You can store a prepared spell of 3rd level or lower in the glyph by casting it as part of creating the glyph.

[...]

If you create a spell glyph, you can store any spell of up to the same level as the slot you use for the glyph of warding.

Any spell means that there is no restriction* (including longer casting times) of what spell can be cast stored in a glyph of warding.

The secondary spell is cast as you are creating the glyph, not as you are casting the glyph. The glyph is a spell effect you inscribe after you cast the spell (it's an effect that can only come into existence as a result of a successful casting).

If we compare this with the wording of Contingency which requires simultaneous casting (emphasis mine):

Choose a spell of 5th level or lower that you can cast, that has a casting time of 1 action, and that can target you. You cast that spell--called the contingent spell--as part of casting contingency, expending spell slots for both, but the contingent spell doesn''t come into effect.

[...]

The wording of Contingency requires the contingent spell be cast (ie casting completed) during the casting of contingency.

As a result, as part of the inscription process, the secondary spell must be cast. This means the total time spent casting spells for a successful spell glyph of warding is 1 hour + the casting time of the spell to be stored.


*That is, provided the spell meets the targeting criteria for glyph of warding holding the spell, which is:

The spell must target a single creature or an area.

\$\endgroup\$
25
  • \$\begingroup\$ You cast a spell for entire duration of 1 hour, the first sentence of Glyph states "When you cast this spell" which I argue means during not after \$\endgroup\$ – Krzysztof Skibiński Jan 20 '20 at 11:19
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ The description starts with: "When you cast this spell, you inscribe a glyph" Not after it. During it. \$\endgroup\$ – Szega Jan 20 '20 at 11:23
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ @Szega It does not say when you are casting but when you cast. If it said casting then then would be during the casting of the spell. By using cast instead of casting the casting of the spell has completed, and we are into the effect of the spell. The effect of the spell is to allow you to inscribe a glyph and imbue it with an effect. \$\endgroup\$ – illustro Jan 20 '20 at 12:11
  • \$\begingroup\$ @illustro Can you show different spells that requires caster's work while casting a spell, like Teleportation Circle but using "When" word? \$\endgroup\$ – Krzysztof Skibiński Jan 20 '20 at 12:39
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ @KrzysztofSkibiński That refers to an effectively durationless activity, choosing a new weather pattern. "Cast the spell" refers to the instant it takes effect. I have trouble thinking of writing a glyph that covers a 10x10 area of a wall as instantaneous. \$\endgroup\$ – Szega Jan 20 '20 at 13:26
-1
\$\begingroup\$

You can't store spells that take more than 1 hour to cast

Nothing in the spell description says that you can cast Glyph for longer than 1 hour.

[...] by casting it as part of creating the glyph [...]

You won't finish casting longer version of Plant Growth before you finish Glyph, ergo you didn't cast the spell to be stored.

Up to DM if you can store precisely 1 hour casting spell

Glyph of Warding doesn't describe time taken by inscribing a glyph, but GM may rule that it takes signigicant effort, which you won't be able to spend while focusing entirely on casting a stored spell.

\$\endgroup\$
1

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.