0
\$\begingroup\$

My question is, Can I use Thirsting Blade with my non-Pact weapon?

Example, I have a +3 Magic Longbow that I used the Pact of the Blade ritual to transform it into my Pact Weapon. (I can Only pull this now when I summon it and can't get a sword)

I can use the Hex Warrior to channel my will through 1 weapon I touch to use my Charisma Modifier for the attack and damage rolls. (once per long rest)

Would I still be able to attack twice when taking the attack action with the Sword even though it's not my Pact Weapon?

  • The Hex Warrior feature says (XGtE 55-56) :

    The influence of your patron also allows you to mystically channel your will through a particular weapon. Whenever you finish a long rest, you can touch one weapon that you are proficient with and that lacks the two-handed property. When you attack with that weapon, you can use your Charisma modifier, instead of Strength or Dexterity, for the attack and damage rolls. This benefit lasts until you finish a long rest. If you later gain the Pact of the Blade feature, this benefit extends to every pact weapon you conjure with that feature, no matter the weapon's type.

  • Thirsting Blade (PHB 111):

    You can attack with your pact weapon twice, instead of once, whenever you take the Attack action on your turn.

\$\endgroup\$
8
\$\begingroup\$

Thirsting blade says that you can attack twice with your pact weapon. Even if a weapon acts similarly to a pact weapon, if it is not a pact weapon, then it is not a pact weapon, so you can't use thirsting blade with it

| improve this answer | |
\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ So I'd have to get an Extra Attack Feature from a Multi-Class like a Fighter to be able to Attack twice with the Sword? not much of a point then for having Thirsting Blade :( @Smart_TJ \$\endgroup\$ – Caleb Jan 21 at 1:34
  • \$\begingroup\$ In this case, yes. Thirsting blade is designed for a blade after all \$\endgroup\$ – Smart_TJ Jan 21 at 1:59
  • \$\begingroup\$ Yeah... but then they added XGtE and the Improved Pact Weapon Invocation allowing Bows into the picture. Been having a lot of fun with this class though, thanks for the ruling! \$\endgroup\$ – Caleb Jan 21 at 2:36
  • \$\begingroup\$ @Caleb Thirsting Blade works w Improved Pact Weapon...why would someone need to multiclass? What 'Sword' are you talking about? \$\endgroup\$ – aaron9eee Jan 21 at 14:33
  • \$\begingroup\$ The constraint is that it works for only one weapon at a time, no more and no less. If you're willing to abide by that constraint, Thirsting Blade works just as well as Extra Attack. \$\endgroup\$ – Louis Wasserman Jan 21 at 17:48

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.