2
\$\begingroup\$

I was recommended to post this here because I didn't realize at the time that I was side tracking from a previous question with a new one.

This is my question and reasoning behind it. Can I use a pair of weapons that are designated as two-handed, using one in each hand, for example, perhaps if I have the dual wielder feat and proficiency with two-handed weapons? Granted, I admittedly do not know much about 5e; I'm running off the ability back in Baldur's Gate that allowed my half-orc to dual-wield warhammers in melee battle. Is this scenario still applicable in 5e or not?

I'm curious because I thought of playing a half-goliath / half-dwarf dual wielding siege axes. I've also considered a half-dwarf / half-giant with the same weapons.

In other words, is there a character build that could make this weapon style work now, like what I did in past editions?

I figured the character race I picked would help mitigate the size and weight problems with these weapons though I'm not sure. But the biggest point was just wondering if this could work and what caveats to expect if a DM would allow it.

My specific question is: Can you wield a two-handed weapon in one hand? If so, can you dual-wield two two-handed weapons, each held in one hand?

\$\endgroup\$
  • 4
    \$\begingroup\$ While it’s definitely good to ask a new question when you have more questions, we do need questions here to be pretty specific. Is the question whether or not you can do this, officially, under the rules? There’s a lot of confusing things in this question, like I don’t think “half-goliath” or “half-dwarf” are really things you can do in 5e, and I don’t think “siege axe” is a weapon in it. But mostly, I don’t really know what your question is. We aren’t a discussion forum, so a question has to be more than “what do you think?” \$\endgroup\$ – KRyan Jan 21 at 3:14
  • 6
    \$\begingroup\$ Trivia: Comments on answers to this question indicate that the video game Neverwinter Nights 2 (and likely others) that was based on Third Edition included the feat Monkey Grip and that there the feat allowed a creature to wield two-handed melee weapons in one hand. However the treeware version of the feat for the tabletop RPG does not offer that option. Still, a lot of folks assume dual wielding megaswords or whatever in Third Edition is as easy as taking the feat Monkey Grip because of how the video games implemented it. \$\endgroup\$ – Hey I Can Chan Jan 21 at 4:25
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ @BradleyLindsey I edited your question title and the main text in several points for clarity and using terminology that gets it closer to what I think is needed on this stack. I attempted to leave the substance of your question entirely unaltered. If any part of it is not what you intend, please revert the edit or change accordingly. This is in the interest of getting the question a chance of being re-opened. \$\endgroup\$ – Valley Lad Jan 21 at 5:01
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ Thank you Valley Lad. That helps alot. When stated like that should be easier for most to understand what I was trying to ask. I thought I had but your phrasing works better I think. \$\endgroup\$ – Bradley Lindsey Jan 21 at 5:27
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ Welcome to RPG.SE! Take the tour if you haven't already, and check out the help center for more guidance. This question isn't a perfect match, but you might find it informative: Is there an equivalent to the Monkey Grip feat in D&D 5e? \$\endgroup\$ – V2Blast Jan 21 at 5:53
5
\$\begingroup\$

One-handing a two-handed weapon is improvising

Two-handed weapons have the two-handed property:

Two-Handed. This weapon requires two hands when you attack with it.

If you are wielding a two-handed weapon in one hand, then it is an improvised weapon. It's up to the DM to provide the stats and properties for such a weapon. Generally a two-handed weapon has a one-handed counterpart, so it's fairly simple:

Often, an improvised weapon is similar to an actual weapon and can be treated as such. For example, a table leg is akin to a club. At the DM's option, a character proficient with a weapon can use a similar object as if it were that weapon and use his or her proficiency bonus.

As such, one-handing a greatsword may yield stats similar to a longsword, perhaps with a smaller damage die due to its unwieldy nature.

Don't forget the Dual Wielder feat

Dual Wielder lets you dual wield bigger weapons than you normally could:

You can use two-weapon fighting even when the one-handed melee weapons you are wielding aren't light.

If your DM lets you, then you can do it

By improvising one-handed grip on two-handed weapons, and using the dual wielder feat, you could dual wield two-handed weapons.

However, be aware that you will be carrying a lot more weight than using more appropriate weapons. Also be aware that your DM may want to give you lower damage die than equivalent weapons - for example instead of having your greatsword deal 1d8 like a longsword when one-handed, have it deal 1d6 since it is difficult to use.

Warhammers can be dual wielded with the dual-wielder feat

Warhammers are 1 handed weapons with the versatile property. If you do not have the feat, you can use light hammers which are 1 handed light weapons.

\$\endgroup\$
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ @BradleyLindsey No worries :) \$\endgroup\$ – pwi Jan 21 at 4:03
  • 3
    \$\begingroup\$ Could downvoters explain why they dislike this answer? Give the answerer a chance to improve their work \$\endgroup\$ – Mark wishes Monica well Jan 21 at 7:30
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Not a downvoter, but a couple of improvements I can think of are: 1) the section about the Duel Wielder feat seems to imply that it will let you duel wield two handed weapons, so maybe make it more explicit that it doesn't allow you to do that RAW, and 2) there's a section about oversized weapons somewhere, might be PHB, MM or DMG (can't remember and away from books at the moment), but that seems like it would be a good addition to the improvised weapons section. \$\endgroup\$ – NathanS Jan 21 at 10:40
  • 3
    \$\begingroup\$ @BradleyLindsey No, there is nothing for any race that allows them to wield two-handed weapons in one hand. As far as I can tell, the only "counts as a bigger size" special note is for Goliaths in relation to carry weight and that's it. \$\endgroup\$ – RevenantBacon Jan 21 at 15:05
  • 3
    \$\begingroup\$ @RevenantBacon a handful of other races, including e.g. Firbolgs, share that trait, with the same constraints. \$\endgroup\$ – Louis Wasserman Jan 21 at 17:39

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.